A fast week and an awesome prize!

9 10 2009

Hey bloggies!  Happy Friday!!

How’s your week been?  Mine has been pretty good besides a few speed bumps here and there.  Like, stepping on my clients glasses and crushing them on Wednesday morning, and making a few scheduling errors.  No biggie though, I’ve since recovered.  🙂

I’ve had some pretty fantastic runs this week.  Last week I was super fatigued and tired, and  I could really feel it in my runs.  After using the process of elimination to try and figure out why I was feeling so crappy, I looked at my marathon training plan and saw that I was coming off of two really high mileage weeks.  My body was telling me that I needed a break and really needed to slow down and rest.  Thank goodness that my long run was “only” 11 miles last Saturday.

Here’s the training plan that I’m doing, which was color coded and dated by my cousin so that I can stay on track.

I'm already in week 10 of my marathon training!!

I'm already in week 10 of my marathon training!!

After taking last weekend to rest, after running my 11 miles of course, I feel so much better and it really showed in my runs this week!

I set a PR on every run that I did this week and can’t believe how strong I feel and felt afterwards!  It’s such a great feeling to know that all of my hard work is paying off!!  I’ve got this marathon locked down and I’m gonna rock that shit!

Here are my stats for this weeks runs:

Tuesday: 4 miles

Mile 1: 8:26

Mile 2: 8:22

Mile 3: 8:44

Mile 3: 8:17

Total:  33:53

Wednesday: 8 miles (usually on my runs longer than 5 miles I average between a 9:15 and 9:30 pace, my average on this run was 9:08!)

Mile 1: 8:45

Mile 2: 9:05

Mile 3: 9:13

Mile 4: 8:57

Mile 5: 9:08

Mile 6: 8:56

Mile 7: 9:09

Mile 8: 8:58

Total: 1:12:19 (fastest “long” run yet!)

Wednesday: 4 miles (these are usually a pretty slow run for me because I am tired from the higher mileage of the day before, but I rocked this one and beat Tuesday’s time!)

Mile 1:  8:20

Mile 2: 8:23

Mile 3: 8:40

Mile 4: 8:09 (wholy crap!! that was a fast ass mile!)

Total: 33:39!!

I’m having a little bit of a dilemma with yesterday’s run though, and I’m not really sure if I should count it as a PR.  The reason is because I ran a route near my house and got stopped at two really long traffic lights.  Like, I had to wait for almost 5 minutes at one of them.  I feel like that was a pretty good amount of time to recover and regain my energy and maybe that’s why I was able to beat my previous time even though I was pretty tired.

So, what do you guys think?  Should it count even though I had two small breaks due to being stuck in traffic?   What do you do in these situations?

Today, I’m not running obviously since it’s a rest day.  My rest days are active though, and after I’m done with this afternoon’s clients I’m going to go to the gym for a good and intense CrossFit workout so that I can get my strength training in.

So, I mention in my title…I got an awesome prize this week!

The owner of the studio where I work has such a big heart, and treats me so well!  There are only 3 trainers there (including me), so Kristi and I spend a lot of time there working together with our clients.  She sees me like the daughter that she never had, so she is always surprising me with little gifts and treats or prizes as she calls them.  She is always wearing such cute work out clothes and has matching shoes and jewelery for every outfit, I try to do the same because there is no reason that you can’t look cute even if you’re in workout clothes all day long.

She has a client that makes jewelery, and since I wear a lot of pink and black she surprised me with these!

Black!

Black!

Pink!

Pink!

How freakin cute are these earrings!

She also knows that I’m training for my marathon, and how passionate I am about running.  She’s not a runner, but fully supports my efforts and is always bragging about my to her clients and asking me for advice to give her girls that run.

She was shopping the other day and happened to stumble upon this awesome Adidas running jacket and bought it for me!  Running jackets (and clothes for that matter) are NOT cheap, and when I saw this I was literally jumping up and down with excitement.  I can wear it for work and for my runs when it gets a little colder this fall and winter.


Love it!

Love it!

So Comfy!

So Comfy!

The coolest thing about this jacket…and the main reason that Kristi bought it for me, is this label on the upper left hand corner…

Boston Marathon!

Boston Marathon!

Kristi got this for me because she knows how dedicated I am to my running and knows that someday I hope to run in the Boston Marathon! How awesome is that!?

Not only is this jacket super cute, but it has a mesh lining on the inside, and pockets on the sides and the back so that I can carry my key, gu, etc.  The Adidas stripes are also bright yellow and reflective so I will be more visable to cars when running (another reason that Kristi got me this jacket).  I can’t wait to wear it on a run…it just hasn’t been cold enough yet so I’ve been wearing it to work.  AWESOME!!

Well, I’m going to go get ready to train my afternoon clients and then hit the gym for my workout.

I have my first 17 mile run tomorrow and the hubby is going to go with me and ride his bike so that I don’t get too bored and have a good supply of fuel and water.

Look for a recap of my run and our adventure, as it should be up some time this weekend.

Have an awesome weekend ladies!!!

Dayna 🙂

Actions

Information

2 responses

10 10 2009
yas

DAYUMMM you run FAST girl! I’m trying to develop my speed toward 8:30/mile.

AND: I’m dying to know how your 17-miler went!

11 10 2009
hopefulrunner

Thanks! It has taken me a long time to work up to this speed, I just take it one run at a time. I didn’t go on my 17 miler today. I am really tired from the work week and needed another day of rest. The hubby and I are going to head out tomorrow morning.
Recap is coming soon! 🙂

Leave a Reply

