Body For Life!

29 09 2009

Hey everyone, happy Monday!

So, I have been reading a lot of new (to me) blogs lately and there are two ladies in particular that have really inspired me to start my own 12 week Body For Life challenge.  I have read Janetha and Therese‘s blogs inside and out in regards to their body for life challenges and I really feel inspired to do this.  It’s not that I don’t know how to eat healthy, I mean I council my clients on proper nutrition for goodness sake!  But, I am human too and I need a little push and a little motivation, and something to look forward to.  I have my marathon to look forward to of course, but I also want to become a better, faster and stronger runner.  In order to do that, I need to get super serious about my nutrition.

So, I started my 12 week challenge today, but I’m going to have to do the workout portion a little differently than the plan calls for.  Because I am training for a marathon, that consists of 4 days of running for me and some days I don’t have the time or energy to do my strength training.  On the days that I do get into the gym to work out (or stay after my clients leave and work out at the studio), I do CrossFit workouts because they focus on full body movements and building endurance which is super important for me right now.

I’m not sure if I’ll be posting every day’s eats because I’m a creature of habit and sometimes eat the same stuff every day.  I will however be keeping a food journal so I can keep track of my eats.  How boring would that be for you guys to have to look at the same meals day in, day out?  But, I do have a little bit of a dilema….I’m also wondering if I’m going to be able to follow this exactly, meaning that I really only crave or, have the desire to eat complex carbs (whole grains, oats, etc) in the morning and early afternoon.  If I eat them too late in the day, they sit like a rock in my stomach.  My dinner staples are chicken and veggies usually, and that works just fine for me.  I do log my food into a calorie counting data base, which tracks my percentages of carbs/proteins/fats so I can at least make sure I end the day somewhere around the 40/40/20 percentages.  I’m gonna give this a whirl and see how it goes!

So, I am going to have hubby take pictures of me so I can track my progress, but I’m not sure if I have the guts to put them on the blog.  To be honest, I’m a little embarrassed/shy about putting pics of myself in a bikini on my blog page for all to see.  I don’t even like to wear one in public.  What do you guys think I should do?

So, here are my meals for day 1 of the Body For Life challenge:

Meal 1:

Breakfast

Breakfast

Protein oats with about 1/4 of a banana on top.  Much better than my pumpkin oats from a few days ago!

Meal #3

Lunch

Lunch

This was freakin delicious!!!  Tuna with a little bit of light mayo and mustard rolled up  in put in romaine lettuce leaves with slices of carrots and celery.  This kept me full for about 3 hours too, I was really surprised!

Meal #3

Snack before heading into the studio to train clients

Snack before heading into the studio to train clients

1 apple and a table spoon of almond butter.  Almond butter is a serious weakness of mine…so.damn.delicious!

Meal #4

I had a Zone Perfect Fudge Graham bar, sorry forgot to take a pic before I ran out the door but I’m sure you have all seen one before.  It was good, but not great.  I was between clients and literally had about 2 minutes to eat, so this did the trick.

Meal #5

Dinner

Dinner

This is pretty much what I eat every night.  Grilled chicken breast with a crap load of steamed vegetables.  I mix it up a bit, but tonight I had yellow squash, zucchini squash, brussels sprouts, mixed peppers, carrots, and lemon pepper.  It’s so easy tastes good, so I just stick with it.  I’m also kind of lazy with cooking lately and haven’t really felt like venturing into making new things.  Trying new recipes actually intimidates me a bit but, I’m trying to get over that.  I’m sure I’ll get sick of this soon and start making new meals.

Usually I’m a bottomless pit, but I really have not been hungry today.  Like, the thought of food just wasn’t appealing, so there’s no meal #6 today.

K, there’s day one!  Woohoo!!

Question for you guys:

How many of you out there follow Body For Life?  How has it turned out for you?  Have you been in the position where you have to deviate a bit from the plan and still had results?

Have a great night!!

Dayna 🙂

Actions

Information

3 responses

29 09 2009
janetha

yahoo! BFL rocks! i am really glad i started blogging because not only did therese jump on the BFL bandwagon, danica (danicasdaily.com) and kristin (kristinsnibbles.com) have started up because they heard it worked too. and now you! that is so rad. if you ever have any Qs let me know. also a good place to go for info is bfltracker.com, that is actually where i post my photos because it is a community of BFLers so i dont feel silly. i am excited to watch your challenge! i think the eating is 75% of it and exercise is 25%, so no biggie to switch that up, as long as you are staying active you are solid. props to you!

29 09 2009
hopefulrunner

Thanks! I just signed up on bfltracker.com. Still need to get my measurements and pics taken. I’m stoked to start this, and excited to see the changes. Thanks for your help and inspiration!

30 09 2009
Danica

Dayna ~ Congrats on choosing to do BFL – I think you’ll love the challenge. I am halfway through my first challenge on week 6. I think you have an excellent plan to work in training for your marathon and using the challenge to get stronger. If it motivates you to improve your eating and workout habits that is what I think matters most – so much of it is mental. Janetha rocks the challenge and she is a wealth of information.

Thanks for adding me to your blog roll – good luck in the contest.

Leave a Reply

