I really thought this would be good…..

25 09 2009

I am so disappointed right now.  I’ve read tons of posts in blog world about pumpkin oats and how delicious they are, so when I woke up this morning and I wanted something different, that’s what I decided to make.  I have the morning off, and when I don’t have to jump out of bed at 4:45am to be at the studio by 5:45 I try to be a little creative with my breakfast and have something other than the usual protein oats (which I absolutely love, but eat every damn day), or my bowl of Kashi Go Lean with berries and Almond Breeze.

So, I got a can of pumpkin on sale the other day at the grocery store and was trying to think of creative ways to eat it, besides in my cottage cheese like I always do.  Have you tried that Janetha?  It’s more savory than sweet…I don’t really like my cottage cheese sweet either (unless I add mixed berries to it).

I have been addicted to my morning oats lately….I go through phases with stuff and if I like it, I’ll eat it every day until I just can’t look at it anymore.  That’s how it’s been with my protein oats, and I just wanted something different for a change

So, I decided to make Pumpkin Oats.

Bleh!

Bleh!

In the mix:

  • 1/2 cup of quick oats
  • 1/4 cup of pumpkin
  • 1/8 cup of unsweetened almond milk
  • a crap load of cinnamon
  • water

So…..I was so disappointed!  This didn’t taste like anything…at all.  There was really no distinctive taste that came to me when I was eating this, and it was just really freakin bland.  Honestly, if I wasn’t so frugal and not a huge fan of wasting food, I wouldn’t have eaten this.  I imagine that if the oats were sweetened, they would have tasted better, but I don’t put sugar in my food, and don’t have any Stevia….so unsweetened it was.

It’s a good thing I had my regular Hugh Jass (shout out to Mrs. LovIN) cup of joe to give me a little bit of morning satisfaction.

My cup is the color of my oats....hmmmmm

My cup is the color of my oats....hmmmmm

I know one that was definitely missing from my oats was protein, which means that I’ll probably be hungry in about an hour (actually now that I think of it…my tummy just start rumbling).  Bleh, what a waste of a meal.

So, my question for you guys is…..what did I miss?  How can I re-create this meal again and actually make it taste good?  What are your favorite combinations to put in your oats?  I’m looking for some new ideas.

Thanks for reading my breakfast rant.  🙂

Dayna 🙂

Actions

Information

2 responses

25 09 2009
janetha

ohhh no i have not added pumpkin to cottage cheese, but if it stays savory then i am all for trying it! and while pumpkin itself is ultra bland (agreed) you need pumpkin pie spice to get the pumpkin oats flavor. truth be told, canned pumpkin tastes like nothing.. but it lends a great consistency to everything!

29 09 2009
Body For Life! « The Life of the Hopeful Runner

[…] oats with about 1/4 of a banana on top.  Much better than my pumpkin oats from a few days […]

Leave a Reply

