I’m training for my first marathon!

24 09 2009

Happy Thursday bloggies!  As I mentioned in my last post, pretty much right after I completed my half marathon, I signed up to race my first full marathon!  I’ll be running the 1st Rock N’ Roll Las Vegas Marathon on December 6th!!  Am I crazy?  Probably.  Am I scared shitless at the thought of running 26.2 miles in one day?  YES!  Am I totally excited for this challenge and the sense of accomplishment that it will bring me when I cross the finish line?  Of course!!  The best part of this for me….and the main reason that I signed up for this marathon in particular is the fact that my cousin lives in Vegas and will be running it with me!  This will be his 4th marathon, but we both started running around the same time…..about 2 years ago (yeah, I’ve only been running for a little over a year and a half and am going to be running a marathon!) and have really bonded over our interest in running.

My hubby and I even drove 4 hours over to Eastern Washington to meet him in July so that we could run my last long run before my half marathon together!  It was awesome…..and really freakin hot!

10 mile run in Goldendale, WA

10 mile run in Goldendale, WA

(I didn’t realize that we are so tiny in that pic…sorry)

So, I’m not working with Coach D anymore because he decided to leave me hangin after I finished my half marathon is super busy with other aspects of his life, which I totally understand.  I learned a lot from his coaching and can take those tools and use them in my marathon training.  So, in my search for a good marathon training plan, I asked my cousin for some advice.  He highly advised that I do one of Hal Higdon’s marathon training plans, as he has used his for all three of his past marathons and been pretty successful.  Dan (my cousin), suggested that I do the Novice 2 Training schedule, and he even color coded the months for me and put dates on all of the days so I would know exactly what run to do on what dates.  Thanks Dan!!! 🙂  I tried to do a screen shot of my training plan so that you could see it, but I’m challenged and can’t figure it out, bummer (I was so excited to show it to you guys).  Click here to look at my training plan, I am currently on week 8.

So, I am running 4 days a week, trying to get in cross training on Sunday’s, which means some bike riding….

Gearing up for my Sunday bike ride

Gearing up for my Sunday bike ride


IMG_0028

...and it ended up being a lot of fun!

...even though this happened to my hubby the previous week, and he couldn't join me.

...even though this happened to my hubby the previous week, and he couldn't join me.

I am also trying to get in a CrossFit workout at least 3 days a week, so that I can keep up with my strength training.  On top of that I am also training “full-time” at the studio, which means that I train 2-3 clients in the morning M-Sat and then 2-4 clients in the evenings M-F which gives me the mornings and afternoons to train for my marathon and do my strength training.  I am also trying to fit in yoga at least once a week, which has been great!

The most challenging part about my training for me so far has been my long runs.  My speed is increasing and my endurance is getting better, but I am really struggling with the mental aspect of long distance running.  At the same time, I am learning a lot about pre-long run fuel, making time for water stops (meaning parking the car 1/2 way through the route so I can refill the water bottle), and what to take with me during the run.  I have type-2 diabetes, so the whole carb-loading thing the night before makes no difference for me at all, and I have to make sure that I have at least 2 GU packets with me just in case my blood sugar drops.  I have also learned that it is a MUST to make sure that I drink at least 100 ounces of H2O the day before the long run, and get in lots of proteins, complex carbs, and veggies so that my body is happy when I wake up the next morning.

So, last Saturday I did my first 14 mile run, and despite being really nervous about it….it felt so great!!  Dave ran the first 7.6 miles with me, and I did the rest on my own.  Last Saturday was Dave’s last full day here before heading up to Bellingham to go to school, so I was happy that he took time out of his day to run with me.  We picked out a new route and had a great time!  The sun was out and it was about 70* with a light breeze…that didn’t suck at all!  🙂

Dave waiting for me to get my shit together so we could go.

Dave waiting for me to get my shit together so we could go.

After seeing how wonderfully awesome my Garmin is, and how helpful it is with training…Dave decided to order one of his own!  Woohoo.  We couldn’t help it, we had to get a pic of the Garmin’s!

Mine is the green one, his is black.

Mine is the green one, his is black.

So, after running the first loop (which was 6.40 miles), we stopped back at our cars so that Dave could take off and get ready to head out-of-town.  I refilled my water bottle, ate a Clif Shot, and said my goodbyes to my friend.

So sad to say goodbye to my Saturday morning running partner.

So sad to say goodbye to my Saturday morning running partner.

After Dave left, I set off to run the rest of my 14 miles.  I felt so strong!!!  I maintained a 9:15 pace when I was running on my own…I think because I had my music on and was lost in my thoughts.  Everything was great up until the last mile when I hit the wall.  My legs were donezo, and I was so ready to be done.  Needless to say, I finished strong and was so happy that I hit a new running milestone!!  I finished my 14.0 miles in 2:11:11 with an average per mile pace of 9:21.  That’s right where I wanted to be too, which made me happy.  I aim to be between 9:15 and 9:30 on my long runs.  🙂

All done!!!

All done!!!

When I got home, I took a much needed shower (I smelt like ass!!), and then ate an Amy’s Organic Beans and Veggie burrito (sorry, no pic) with a bunch of salsa on top, and laid down for a nap.  I was pooped!!!

This is what you look like after your first 14 mile run!

This is what you look like after your first 14 mile run!

I laid around for the rest of the day and just relaxed…and drank tons of water!

Well, if you haven’t fallen asleep by now, that means you made it to the end of my post.  Thanks for reading!  🙂

I’m scheduled for my first 15 mile run this Saturday and hopefully it’ll be interesting enough to do a recap for you guys.  Hubby and I are also going to a bbq at our neighbors house so I’m sure I’ll have lots of good eats and pics to share with you guys.

Have a great day everyone!!!

Dayna 🙂

Actions

Information

One response

24 09 2009
janetha

WOW that is going to be so fun to watch you run that! awesome!

Leave a Reply

