The Long Run That Wasn’t

19 06 2009

Do you guys ever have one of those days where you wake up in the morning with a goal in mind, and the end it just doesn’t work out as you had planned?  Yeah, that was how my run turned out this morning.

For those of you who haven’t been reading lately, I am currently in the middle of my half marathon training and have been working with a running coach.  Coach D has me running 5-6 days a week.  I do three 30 minute “easy” runs, one track workout with him which consists of some kind of interval workout in which I think he is trying to kill me, and one long run.  Well, today was supposed to be  my long run and he told me to go out and run for an hour.  Right now I am focusing on time and not mileage, which is actually kind of nice.  But, now that I have my new Garmin, I find myself paying a lot of attention to my mileage anyways.

So, onto today’s run and the reason for this post.  So, I woke up this morning and felt suprisingly refreshed.  I am usually pretty groggy in the morning and on most days feel fatigue all day long…that is another story all together.  I’m thinking about seeing a doc and getting some blood tests to see if I am anemic.  I decided that because of my work schedule this weekend I would do my long run today.  So, I did my usual morning stuff, and for breakfast decided to eat a bowl of Kashi Go Lean with 1/2 of a banana, 4 sliced up strawberries, and 1/2 c of soy milk and had a cup of coffee.  I think that bowl of cereal might have been the demise of my run this morning as I usually don’t have that in the morning before I run.

I decided to head out about an hour later, but knew that I needed some more fuel so I had a tbsp of almond butter.  Usually I have it with half of a banana but since I had eaten breakfast an hour before hand I thought that the AB by itself would be enough.

I left and hit the pavement and started to notice that about a half of a mile into my run I was feeling a little dizzy and it kind of felt like the ground was moving below me instead of me moving above the ground.  Sometimes that happens to me and I figured it would pass.  I was running slow though…and felt so fatigued!  When I got to one of my turn around points at 1.34 miles I stopped to take off my running jacket and cross the street.  I got adjusted and set off to continue my run, and I just couldn’t do it!  I was so tired and my legs felt so heavy and I was really dizzy.  My blood sugar just plumited!!  I have insulin resistance and have to be really careful about my blood sugar levels but considering what I had eaten, I really didn’t think that there would be any problems.  At this point I decided to ditch the long run and just try to make it back home.  Seriously guys, I COULD NOT RUN. I honestly didn’t even know if I had the energy to make it back to my house, and it hit me like a ton of bricks.  I almost stopped at a pay phone to call my hubby and have him come pick me up, but I knew if I just walked it out I could make it back home.  HOW FREAKEN’ EMBARASSING!!

When I got home I was STARVING and felt like I could eat the whole kitchen!  I decided to have an orange and a huge bottle of water so that I could at least get my blood sugar back up to a normal level instead of just eating whatever was in front of me.  I am really glad that I did that, that way I didn’t feel sick from overeating ya know?

IMG_2814

IMG_2815

By the time I remembered to take the pic of the orange I had almost completely devoured it!

About 30 minutes later I felt a little bit better but was starving so I made this.

IMG_2808

IMG_2809

1/2 of an Ezekiel Sprouted Wheat tortilla, 1/2 of a can of tuna with some light mayo and mustard, 1 sliced up carrot, and some cucumber.  (sorry for the fuzzy picture) It was delicious and really hit the spot!!  I know that I will be making these a lot more often! Have you guys ever tried the Ezekiel tortillas before? The nutrition stats are really good, and I was pleasently supprised by how good they are!

I think I’m starting to feel a little bit better now.

I also made a cup Blueberry Green Tea in my Christmas mug.  YUM!

IMG_2816

Well, even though today’s run was pretty crappy and I’m a little dissapointed that I didn’t get my long run in, I’m not going to let it ruin my day.  Before my injury I would have been super pissed off and would have been mad all day about it, but I need to honor my body and give it what it needs.  If I can’t run, I can’t run, and if my body needs rest, so be it.  I just need to refuel and try again tomorrow right!?

So, I have question for you guys….has this ever happened to you?  What did you do to help yourself feel better about it, and were you able to get right back on track?  How do you fuel before a long run?

Well, I’ve got to get ready for work!

Have a great Friday guys!

Dayna   🙂

Actions

Information

2 responses

19 06 2009
Danielle C.

Honestly, yes I’ve had this happen with my blood sugar before (very recently in fact). Only it was AFTER physical activity and not re-fueling properly. Minutes before I could get the food in my body I passed out….IN PUBLIC. Horribly embarrassing…omg. As soon as I got about 3 bites of food in me I felt fine again. But I had the big bump on my forehead for a whole week as a reminder.

I’m so afraid it might happen again that I always make sure to have a Luna or Larabar with me in my purse and car! I think I might just back a little tube of the Clif shots in my running pack just in case it happens on a run. I’m due to get some blood work done JUST IN CASE.

But I know you felt and it’s scary when it happens. I think the best thing you can do is just fuel with the foods you know are best for your body, and to make sure to re-fuel afterwards. I believe our bodies always give us hints, it’s just whether or not we choose to listen to them. LOL.

BTW, I just found your blog! So nice to find a Seattle area lady, I’m up North in Snohomish County. Maybe one of these days I”ll actually start blogging instead of lurking. 🙂

20 06 2009
runningyogini

*Hugs* Yes I have totally planned on stealing a passerby’s cell phone to call hubby! LOL! Seriously, you need to give yourself credit for toughing through. I don’t know why bad runs weigh so heavy on my mind, but the best thing is just let it go and look forward to the amazing runs. One amazing running friend says “Well, They can’t all be sunshine and happiness” (about crappy runs). I also have trouble with food/running. I get REALLY REALLY Hungry sometimes even when I eat well before running. Give yourself props for being one tough chick and move on!

Leave a Reply

