It’s a Graduation, 12K, BBQ, and Hike in the Mountains Recap!

17 06 2009

Wow, it seems like forever since I have updated my blog!  I have so much to share with you guys and have been so busy.  Finally things have slowed down a bit and now I am trying to find things to do with my time (mainly find clients so I can work more…this economy is killing me!).  Go figure huh!?

Well, I have officially graduated with my Associates in Arts and Sciences! It’s bitter sweet though, because I know that I am only 1/3 of the way there.  But, I really worked my butt off to get to this point, and I am proud of myself.  Some of my family came up here to celebrate with me and watch me walk.

Me, with my dad and my beautiful aunt

Me, with my dad and my beautiful aunt

Me and Tori

Me and Tori

My dear friend Tori came too.  She graduates next year, and I can’t wait to celebrate with her!

We all went out to dinner before the commencement ceremony at this yummy restaurant in downtown Tacoma called The Harmon.  It’s one of my and Tim’s favorite places to eat!  Unfortunately, I was caught up in the moment and forgot to take a pic of my graduation dinner.  (bad food blogger!)  But, I had a spinach salad with grilled chicken, feta, sundried tomatoes, walnuts, artichoke harts, and raspberry vinaigrette on the side..YUMMY!

Besides catching up with my aunt and her hubby who came up from California (she used to be a marathon runner, so we had A LOT to chat about), and visiting with my daddy who drove up from Oregon, this was the absolute best part of my evening!!

Garmin 405

Garmin 405

My Aunt and my cousins that live down in CA put their $ together and got me a GARMIN FORERUNNER 405 for my graduation present!!!  I WAS SO EXCITED WHEN I OPENED IT THAT I ALMOST CRIED!!!  I thought I had some pics of my opening it at dinner, but I guess I don’t.  I have wanted one of these for about 2 years, and this is pretty much the best gift that I have ever received!

After dinner we headed to commencement, which was long and a little boreing, and the lady pronounced my name wrong!  I kind of expected it though….it always happens.

Here are some post commencement pictures….  🙂

Me, my Aunt and her Hubby

Me, my Aunt and her Hubby

Aren’t they so cute!!!

Me and my Dad

Me and my Dad

I LOVE MY DAD  🙂

The next day I went out to breakfast with my family before they hit the road, and then headed to work for the day.  I took my dad with me to TJ’s before my shift so that he could pick up some staples before he headed back home to the Oregon Coast.  Man, after having my family here and all of the fun of commencement, it was so hard to go to work.  It was even harder to say goodbye to my papa.  I got off work at 9 and hightailed it outta there so I could go home and play with my Garmin, and get ready for the Sound To Narrows 12K the next morning!  Man, I couldn’t have gotten my Garmin at a better time, and I was so excited to use it!

I was so nervous the morning of the race, I always am.  I ran this last year but wasn’t sure how I would do since this was my longest distance since coming back from my knee injury.  I rocked it though, and had the best time!  Some of my friends from school decided to run it with me.  We all split up during the race, and ended up finishing within 5 minutes of eachother!

Chris, Dave, Me, and Catie (post race)

Chris, Dave, Me, and Catie (post race)

We named ourselves TEAM AWESOME! Haha, yeah, that was my idea!  The race went really well for me.  I had very minimal pain in my knees and kept a good pace.  Although, I started out too fast as I always do and it slowed me down during the middle of the race.  My coach wasn’t too happy about my splits and I have to make sure that I start out slower next time so that I can run a faster mile.  This course was super hilly though and I really powered it up those hills….I surprised myself.  This training with Coach D has really paid off, and he told me yesterday that if I had been training with him for 6 months instead of 2 months prior to this race I would have cut my finish time in half!

MY GARMIN ROCKS

MY GARMIN ROCKS

Here are the stats….  7.57 mi finished in 1:11 at an average 9:29 pace. Not too shabby aye?

Here are some more randoms from race day…..

Being silly

Being silly

Me, after crossing the finish line

Me, after crossing the finish line

IMG_2527

Putting on my bib

Stretching

Stretching

After the race we rushed home because we had a BBQ to get ready for!  We had our first big BBQ that night to celebrate my graduation, and I had a lot to do to get ready for it.  I was expecting that I would be a big pile of tired Dayna on the couch for most of the afternoon like I was last year after my race, but when I got home I had all kinds of energy!  I felt so great!  So, I headed to the store to pick up the party favors.

Hubby and I provided the meat (hotdogs and hamburgers), and all the fixins to go on the burgers and hotdogs as well as the plates, napkins, etc.  Our guests all brought a dish from home…which made this bbq so awesome!  It was a potluck theme!  So, I’m pretty bumbed out cause I took pics of all the food and great beer that everyone brought and my camera ate the pictures!!  Grrrrrrr.  What good is a food blog without pictures of the food!?

Oh well, we had an awesome time though…and about 15 of our friends showed up!

My beautiful nieces

My beautiful nieces

My sister and brother in law and our three nieces drove 2 hours to come spend the day with us!  This is me with my oldest niece Emma (7) and my middle niece Grace (4), they are my little peaches!  So adorable!!!

My friends from work

My friends from work

Me with my friends Casey and Alyssa from work!

Me and Claire

Me and Claire

Me and my dear friend Claire, who’s living it up in Mexico right now on a study abroad program.  She left for Mexico the morning after my BBQ at 4am!!

Hanging out

Hanging out

My hubby and some friends hanging out by the fire pit.

Timmy!

Timmy!

A fuzzy picture of my hubby hanging in the kitchen after everyone left.  What an amazing party!!!  We have the best friends….and they made my night so special!

One thing that I did get a picture of, are two lovely bottles of wine that my friends brought over as gifts.

IMG_2805

Wine..mmmmm

Materne Haegelin

Materne Haegelin

The wine on the right is a Pino Noir that my friend Bridgette bought for me when she was in France!  I can’t wait to try it…but I’m going to save it for a special occasion for sure!

She also bought this for me…so sweet!

Chambre

Chambre

On Sunday morning (the morning after our BBQ), we headed out at about 10:00 with our neighbors and drove up to Mt. Rainier for a nice day hike.  I may or may not have had a few too many beers the night before and may or may not have had a huge headache!  It felt good to sweat that alcohol out of my system.

Mt Rainier

Mt Rainier

Walking across the bridge and heading up to our trail.

Mt. Rainier

Mt. Rainier

Woah!  Extreme closeup of the hubby!  🙂

Mt. Rainier

Mt. Rainier

In front of the falls…

Mt. Rainier

Mt. Rainier

Treking through the snow!  I was really suprised to see so much snow up there, we thought that there would be a little but about a mile of our hike was through some pretty deep snow.  Good times.

Mt. Rainier

Mt. Rainier

Another bridge!

Well, there’s my longer than a damn book weekend recap.  If you’re not asleep by now, I hope you enjoyed my update and our fun pictures!  I’m happy to be back to blogging and will be back to catch you guys up on more of my life and eats soon!

Have a beautiful day bloggies!  🙂

Dayna

Actions

Information

One response

19 06 2009
runningyogini

Wow! Super congrats on Graduation and your race. Yay for team awesome 🙂 I’m so excited that you got your Garmin!!! What a wonderful gift and I’m sure you deserved it! Nice catching up 🙂

Leave a Reply

