Am I injury prone or what!?

20 05 2009

Hey guys, hope you’re all having a good Tuesday.  My day has been okay, a lot of up’s and down’s and nothing that I can really share with the blog world.  But, when all else fails, have a few glasses of this…

008

and start blogging away!  It always makes me happy when I actually have the time to post, it’s nice to be able to share my thoughts and adventures with you guys, and know that someone out there is actually reading it.  🙂

So, I can’t remember the name of the wine pictured above, and I’m being a lazy ass and don’t want to get up and check,  the bottle is in the kitchen, but when I tried it last night I wasn’t a big fan.  I actually didn’t like it at all.  Well, I don’t know if it has anything to do with the day that I have had, or the fact that the hubby and I were in a deep conversation when I had my first glass, but I really like it.  If I have wine in the evening, I usually only have one glass with dinner, and it’s a small glass (see picture above).  But, tonight I had 3 of those (gasp!).  Woah!  I know, I’m living on the edge….someone slow me down! 

Anyways, lets get onto more important news!  So, you are probably asking yourself, “Self, why did she title her post ‘Am I injury prone or what!?”.  Well, just take a wild guess….yeah, I hurt myself again and have to take a few days off from running!  Damit!  Yesterday morning I was instructing my Monday morning boot camp class and I had the girls do shuttle runs.  If you don’t know what shuttle runs are, basically I put dumb bells (usually you use cones) on the floor spaced out and had the girls run from the wall to one dumb bell, stop, touch it, and then sprint back to the wall, and then do it again.  But each time they went a little further to the next dumb bell repeating the same action until they get to the end, and then go all the way back to where they started(wow, that was really wordy).  Well, I demonstrated this by going to the first dumb bell and when I stopped to touch it and then sprinted back to the wall.  When I did this, I felt a pull in my quad muscle (specifically my rectus femoris).  

QUAD1It definitely caught my attention and I could feel it tighten up right away.  When my clients left I did some stretching and massaged the muscle, and didn’t really think anything of it.  I figured that I just irritated it, but it was unlike anything I have ever felt, and was deep down in the muscle.  I was pretty irritated about it, but soon forgot that it even happened, and went to school and on with the rest of my morning.  

It was a beautiful day yesterday, in the high 60’s and the first nice afternoon in a long time that I wasn’t working or in school.  So, when I got out of class I decided to go for my afternoon run since I was way too tired to do it in the morning.  Well, when I started running I felt the pain in my quad muscle coming back, but it was minor, and I figured it was just tight so I kept going…but I was taking it slow.  Well, about a mile into my run the pain was so bad that I had to turn around and head back home.  Wholy crap it hurt!  At one point I was doing a hobble/run and swear that I looked like one of those 60 year old mall walkers that you see doing laps around the mall at 1 in the afternoon on a Tuesday.  It sucked!  Not only was I pissed because I couldn’t complete my run, but it was a beautiful day and I just really wanted to enjoy not running in 50* weather!  When I got home, I took a shower (because I smelt like a**) and sat down and immediately iced my quad.  The pain was getting really intense and was so bad that I thought I was going to puke, no joke, and was bawling like a damn baby to my hubby.  I ended up having to cancel my afternoon clients because walking and being useful wasn’t really an option.  If I can’t be 100% for my clients, I feel like it’s a waste of their money.  I stayed home and just iced and relaxed.  

Well, I woke up this morning and my quad was really swollen and now it’s just super sore.  I am supposed to have my training run with my coach tomorrow morning, but I told him what happened and decided that it’s best if I just take tomorrow off and try to do my training run on Thursday.

So, my question is….WTF!?  Why is it that I am two weeks into my training and get hurt again!?  You know what?  I’m not going to let this get me down though.  It’s a minor setback and what I have already learned from my knee injury is that I need to listen to my body and let it heal, so that’s what I am doing.  I’m going to go into  the gym tomorrow and spin and do some resistance training and hopefully I can run on Thursday.

So, I did go to the gym and workout this morning despite the fact that I my leg was hurting and I ended up bawling like a little baby when I got home.  I chalk that up to a mixture of pain and pure frustration.  

I decided to do another Crossfit workout today.  This one is named Cindy, here’s what I did:

Max rounds for time of:

  • 5 Pullups
  • 10 Pushups
  • 15 squats

 I did 10 rounds, so that equals:

  • 50 Pullups
  • 100 Pushups
  • 150 Squats

….and it kicked my ass!  

I also finished up with 3 sets of pilates: 30 seconds each of regular planks to side plank, back to regular plank, to other side and then rest.  It was a pretty intense workout.  When I was done, I went up to the spin room and rode the bike for 30 so boreing I wanted to scratch my eyes out wonderful minutes!  

So, I don’t have a whole lot to report on my eats for today, but I did decide to make hummus and tried a few new things in the recipe this time, I was pretty pleased with the outcome. 

 

015

In the mix (notice how I matched the font with the color of my hummus…yeah, that’s skill!):

 

  • garbanzo beans
  • roasted yellow peppers
  • 1 small zucchini (I got a pack of 12 of them  for $2.99 from TJ’s and want to used them up before they go bad)
  • two cloves of garlic
  • a small amount of tahini paste
  • juice from 1 lime
  • water
  • a tsp of olive oil
  • lemmon pepper and salt to taste

 

Like I said, I was pretty happy with the end result and of course, ate some of it right away!

014

Oh, and I also made a little pizza to snack on too…it was pretty good, except for the fact that I got distracted (as usual) and left it in the oven for too long.

012  

In the Mix:  

  •  1 low carb tortilla
  • tomato sauce
  • dried cilantro
  • roasted red, green, and yellow peppers
  • onions
  • spinach
  • grilled chicken
  • a sprinkle of parmasean cheese on top

 

Tonight I made my hubby cheeseburgers (because they are his fav) and sweet potato fries, but because of said “deep conversation” that I mentioned above, I forgot to take pictures.  I will probably be making them again this week so I will take pics then.  I forgot to eat dinner, which is totally not like me…so I am steaming a pot of veggies even as we speak I type.

 

Well, I’m going to go check on my very late dinner, make a cup of peppermint tea, stretch and get ready for bed.  Hope you all had a great day!  Mine started kinda crappy, but ended great and I am happy for that, for sure!                                                 

I’ll catch up with you guys tomorrow or Thursday and give you an update on my damn quad!   Later gaters!!  🙂

Dayna 

Actions

Information

One response

20 05 2009
Holly

I found your blog and I’m so sorry to hear about your quad!! Especially after just getting back from a knee injury. I have to say that I love your positive attitude! I am having slight knee problems now and it’s really, really got me bummed. But reading your post made me feel better, because I know we’ll both get better and be out there again soon. And if not….there is always somethin’ else! I just have to train my mind to think that there are other workouts besides running. 🙂

I hope you feel better soon!

Leave a Reply

