Lent didn’t work, so what should I do now?

6 05 2009

Hi, my name is Dayna, and I have a huge sugar addiction!  So, I decided a few months ago to participate in lent and give up refined sugars.  I work best when I am working toward a goal or have a challenge.  I really should not be eating refined sugars for a number of reasons:

  • I have type 2 diabetes/insulin rresistance and feel like absolute crap when I eat sweets and junk food
  • I can feel the effects of refined sugars and sweets almost immediately, like my energy levels go down, and my mood changes
  • Because of my type 2/insulin resistance I gain weight almost immediately when I eat sweets
  • I am a total health nut and in all other aspects of my life am really strict as far as food and exercise are concerned, then I throw it down the tubes by eating cookies and candy

So, what is a girl to do!?  How can I beat this sugar addiction without falling off the wagon like I did last time?  I made it through 3 weeks of lent and then accidentally ate some trail mix with chocolate in it and it was a downward spiral from there.  So, I decided that instead of restricting myself (which I tell my clients to never do), I decided to give myself a small treat every day if I wanted it so that it wouldn’t get out of hand.  Well it got out of hand my friends and I need to find a solution to this problem.  

So, you might be wondering what prompted me to write about this!?  My hubby came home with these last night…

010

and I ate one of these…

009

WHAT THE F**K!?  I never eat that crap! NEVER.  I had such a stressful day and right when he walked in the door I gravitated right to that soft, warm, gooey, chocolaty goodness like it was gonna solve all of my problems.  I was thinking “I love you chocolate donut, and you will make all of my problems go away….”  Yeah………not so much!!

The worst part about this damn dirty donut was that I ate it and then 20 minutes later, realized that I had to go to bed.  Shit!  Donut in the stomach + bed time = poor sleep and tummy ache in the morning. (again….I really do/should have known better!!

So, when I woke up this morning I felt absolutely terrible!  My stomach was bloated, I had a huge headache, and didn’t sleep well at all!  I knew after the donut last night, I had to go to the gym, now matter how bad I felt!!!  So, I ate my tbsp of almond butter….which I didn’t want at all but knew that I needed to fuel up for the workout, and headed to the gym.

Seriously guys, about 10 minutes into my workout I thought I was going to barf!!  I just wanted to leave and go back to bed.  When I eat crap like that before bed or later in the evening, it sucks the energy right now of me the next morning.  Well, I made it through my workout, even though I wanted to quit and thought that I was going to barf the whole time, here’s what I did….

The, I’m so sick because I ate a Hugh Jass (stole that from Sarah) donut Workout!      

  •  Weight Bench Step Ups with Dumb Bell Military Press and Bicep Curl 12lbs 15 reps (MP’s with one set of step ups, and BC’s with one set of step up’s)
  • Decline Sit Ups 30 reps
  • Single Leg Hip Raises (hamstrings) 15 reps on each leg

then….

  • Lunges with a Dumb Bell Twist 6lb dumb bell 10 lunges with twists down and 10 back
  • Back Extentions 15
  • Tricep Dips

then….

Even then I still felt like I was going to puke, I ended the workout with 3 miles on the treadmill at a 10 minute mile with 15 minutes of stretching.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                         Okay, so let me go back to the whole point of this post.  

  • I need to figure out an effective way to be able to get rid my rediculous cravings for refined sugars.  
  • I have also been very interested lately in trying to introduce raw foods into my diet but have been pretty intimidated by all of the information that I have come across and have no idea where to start.
  • Since I love my treats, and already eat a lot of fruit, I need some suggestions on treats that I can make myself that I know will be a lot healthier than the cookies I always go for…which might be a way that I can incorporate some raw food recipes into my diet.

So, can you guys help me!?  Do you have any suggestions or pointers or words of advice?  I know that a lot of you out there eat raw foods, and have really healthy alternatives to deserts….so any help that you could lend would be so awesome!  Like I mentioned earlier, pretty much all aspects of my diet/lifestyle are super healthy, and I am really careful to make sure that I put good foods into my diet, but I really get tripped up when it comes to my sweet cravings.  I just need to quit this so that I can feel better, be healthier, and set a better example.

So, what do you guys do when you have uncontrollable sweet cravings?  What are some easy raw recipes you can suggest?  

If you guys think you can help……leave your comments!  I’m open to any and all suggestions!

Thanks guys!!  

Dayna 🙂                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                   

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Actions

Information

5 responses

8 05 2009
Judy

Larabars are made with all raw foods and have great flavors. They should satisfy your sweet tooth. Great review here:
http://coachlevi.com/product-reviews/tested-larabar-energy-bar/

11 05 2009
Kelly

Although I agree with you that you shouldn’t completely restrict yourself- I think sometimes with sugar, it’s so addictive that having just a little is almost worse (sort of like an alcoholic with alcohol…weird comparison but true). It sounds like you were doing well until you accidentally had the chocolate, so maybe that was the problem it stimulated your addiction again? I have a lot of things I can’t eat because of my stomach and I always try to picture how HORRIBLE I will feel after I eat it, this helps! It doesn’t work every time but sometimes! It’s a big challenge though. I hope you have some luck!

13 05 2009
angiesappetite

Hi Dayna! Just found your blog! I’m a dietitian and I find that the more you try to avoid sweets, sometimes it makes you think about them and want them even more…that being said, I think the best alternative is to make sure you have regular, evenly-spaced out meals that have a little protein and healthy carbohydrate. Beyond that, I’m excited to see others’ comments.

13 05 2009
hopefulrunner

Thanks for the comment Angie! I have decided to not even let myself eat this crap so that I won’t have the cravings for it anymore. I do eat every 2.5-3 hrs every day and make sure that I am getting enough carbs, proteins, and good fats. I have been eating something like fruit or yogurt whenever I am craving sugar, and so far that has really helped!
Thanks for reading. 🙂
Dayna

15 05 2009
Sarah

hey Dayna. I have that problem too with sugar, im like a total sugar freak.. for me, when i crave sugar i go for boiled sweets like mints or other types that you suck, or small chocolates like hersheys kisses. but the boiled sweets work the best. they’re low in calories and stay in your mouth for a long time, so yeah. if it still doesnt work, then go for low fat chocolate milk. that taste great!

Leave a Reply

