Time to get back to the grind…..

1 05 2009

Time to get back to our regularly scheduled programing….

Well, it’s been quite a week, or week and a half.  I have been reading all of your blogs religiously but just haven’t felt like posting.  School and work(s) have been hectic on top of the fact that it has been a rather emotional week, which has kind of sucked the energy right out of me.  I feel like I have so much to say, and nothing to say all at the same time.  I have been working out this week of course, and want to share my workouts with you, but I can’t really remember what I did.  I’ve been taking pictures of my food and I might just give you a quick recap of everything that I have eaten.  

Monday:

What a hectic day!  Monday morning I taught my first ever “workout boot camp” with the owner of the studio where I work!  It was awesome!  We had 6 girls and split them up so I took 3 and she took 3 and we just beat em up and switched off.  It was so fun.  Hopefully they’ll be back and we can do it again next Monday morning.  The studio where I work is very small and we are only about a year old, so we are hopefully going to have our boot camps up and running on a regular basis by the summer time.  I had to be at the studio at 8:30 so Kristy and I could get ready, which meant that in order to get my workout in, I had to get up at 4:45 to do the 5:30 spin class.  I have to say, I am not impressed with the spin class that I have taken in the mornings.  It’s just not enough for me and I barely broke a sweat.  I am convinced that I am better off doing my own workouts.  After I was done teaching the boot camp, I high-tailed it outta there and rushed to school.  I had to do my informative speech (which was on fitness and nutrition…naturally) for my public speaking class at 10:30, and I got done teaching boot camp at 10:00!!  I was so nervous and DID NOT want to be late.  Well, I got there early, did my speach without passing out or throwing up, and got 100 out of 100!!!  I was so pleased.  🙂

Tuesday

I RAN, I RAN, I RAN, I RAN!!!!!!!!!!!!!   Oh my god, can you tell I’m excited!?  So, I had some extra time at the gym and reeeeeally had the bug to run.  I hadn’t tried in over a month and had been religiously following my physical therapist’s order for stretching (which I was doing already), and I was feeling really good…no pain at all.  So, I thought, what the hell…I’m just going to get on the tread mill and do a walk/run and if the pain comes on like last time the I’ll stop.  So, I walked for 2 minutes and decided (reluctantly) to start running, but slowly….like an 11 minute mile, and it felt GOOD!  I was very careful, and skeptical and only ran for 2 minutes and then walked for another 2 minutes.  I repeated this a few times, still with no pain.  I couldn’t believe it, but I kept telling myself that I wasn’t going to push it, that’s how I got in this trouble in the first place.  Well, I stayed on the tread mill for 30 minutes and after my first few walk2/run2 I ran for 5 minutes, and 10 minutes with walking in between.  My knees actually felt the best that they had since February!!  That afternoon I went to see my physical therapist and told her that I ran and also told her that I felt better and I had been doing all of the stuff that she told me to.  She was happy that I took it easy, and did some more tests on me.  So she told me that my hip flexors are very tight as well as my calves and hamstrings, which we established last week.  She told me that if I really stretch these and get them loose and lengthened my knees should start feeling better and I will be a much better runner.  She also took the orthotics out of my running shoes to see if they might have been causing an imbalance in my running.  She also had me run on the TM so that she could look at my form and told me that it’s perfect!!!  That was great news since I was really pigeon toed when I started running, which is why I had the orthotics to begin with.  So, she gave me more stretches to do and sent me on my way…and told me that I can run a little if I want (because she knows I’m going to do it anyways), but to take it slow and keep it easy.  So, basically……I CAN START RUNNING AGAIN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!   But believe me I have learned my lesson.  I am going to take it slow this time and just enjoy the ride…I don’t need to be the fastest or the best, I just need to run and enjoy my time on the road.  That’s what this sport is about right?  🙂                                       

stuff-0301

Oh, and I went all out and made this for dinner for.  Chicken enchiladas!  This is the first time that I have made these and I think I made it a lot more complicated than it needed to be.  The one on the end without the cheese was mine.  They were tasty.  I filled them with shreaded chicken, onions, green peppers and refried beans.

stuff-031I had mine with a nice glass of Overlake Cab and some spinach.  Tim had a side of refried beans.  Mmmmmmm 🙂

Wednesday:

Nothing to report for Wednesday…..I can’t really remember what I did yesterday besides homework and housework, and more homework. That’s really not very interesting at all.  Oh, but I did make this for dinner, which I had with some grilled chicken.

stuff-005Grilled veggies:

*green peppers

*Brussels sprouts

*Carrots

*Red peppers

*Red onions

*Zuchini

I also mixed in a little extra virgin olive oil, rosemary, thyme, and S&P.  I like it a lot, but think it might be more cost effective to just stick to my steamed veggies.

 Thursday:      

I didn’t have school today!!  Woohoo!  So, I intended on sleeping in and going to the gym around 7, but since I had the opportunity to sleep in, of course I woke up early.  At 5:45!  I felt good though and didn’t rush getting to the gym.  I drank my coffee, ate my half of a banana and 1tbsp of almond butter and went to the gym around 6:45.  I did back and biceps this morning and then for my cardio ran again!!!  I ran a little faster this time, because it just felt right.  I knew that if I felt any little onset of pain or inflammation that I could back off and run, but I ran a 10 minute mile today and it felt so good.  Oh, to sweat and zone out and feel the adrenaline……..I love you running!!  I walked for 2 minutes and ran for 10 minutes and repeated that 3 times.  I stretched a ton when I was done and so far still feel really good.  My knees are a little tender, which I expected, but they don’t hurt.  I will stretch really good tonight before bed and take it easy at the gym in the morning.  

When I got home from studying for a few hours at this cute little cafe near my house, a man came to my door and delivered these!

001

Aren’t they beautiful!?  My dad and step mom sent them, and I had been feeling a little *bleh* today, so they really cheered me up!  They know that with the 2 year “anniversary” of my mom’s passing being tomorrow (sigh), and my friend Angie’s memorial being this Saturday, that I could really use a pick-me-up and something to make me smile.  It worked!  I have the best family!                                                                                                                                                                                     Well, right now I’m jsut sitting here waiting for my hubby to get home from work.  He has been really busy lately and working long days.  While I wait for him, I think I’ll make myself some steamed veggies with grilled chicken and enjoy a glass of this.                                                                                                                                                                                                                             stuff-012

Have a great night guys, and thanks for reading my long winded post!  It’s funny how I feel like I have nothing to say and then all of the sudden an hour later I am wrapping up my post for the day.  Blogging definitely takes a close second place to running in the therapeutic activities category.

If I have time tomorrow after school and before work I’ll try and post.  If I don’t get around to it, I hope you all have a great Friday!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

