A Busy Day and an Awesome BBQ!

24 04 2009

Hey guys, happy Thursday!  Today was another productive/busy/good day.  It started out like it always does, with the exception of me waking up about 15 minutes late this morning because I forgot to set my alarm last night!  You guys know that I get up at 6am on the dot every morning and head right to the gym, I am out the door by 6:30 and working out by 6:45.  I am pretty anal retentive about time since I have so much to fit in…I have totally fine tuned my timing and my schedule.  Well, I rolled over this morning and looked at the clock and (gasp!), it was 6:16!  Crap!  I was so exhausted last night (which is why there was no post yesterday), that I passed out and forgot to set the alarm.  No big deal though.  I hopped out of bed, made my coffee…chugged it without burning my mouth off,

food-006

and ran out the door and was on the gym floor working out by 6:50!  Man, I was so tired during my workout though because I wasn’t fully “awake” yet.  By the end of my workout, which was awesome by the way, I was feeling great and was full of energy!

So, here’s what I did this morning!

Since I am taking it kind of light (as far as weight is concerned) with my leg workouts, I felt like I needed to squeeze in some more leg work this week, so I decided to do mainly shoulders with legs worked in.  As usual, three rounds of the following circuits (I busted through the circuits pretty fast since I got there a little late, which was good because it got my heart rate up even higher).

Push Press (click here to see a demo of what I did ,and no that is not me) 45lbs (bench press bar with no weight) 15 reps

Weighted Squats with calf raises (toes forward, toes in, toes out) 70lbs 15 reps

Barbell Upright Row 40lbs 15 reps

then….

External Rotations 12.5lbs 15 reps

Single Leg Pelvic Raises (works hamstrings and glutes) 15 reps each leg

12 Pood Kettle Bell Swings 15 reps 

then…

30 sweaty minutes on the elliptical while practicing my speech that I have to do on Monday

 

Trader Joes’s did an employee appreciation BBQ for us employees today, so after class at about 1:00 I swung over there to make an appearance.  I had brought a snack with me because I didn’t think that the food would be that healthy (it never usually is at these work functions), but I was pleaseantly supprised.  Sorry guys, I didn’t take any pics.  Most of the people that I work with don’t understand the whole food blog thing and kind of tease me about it, so I didn’t even want to go there.  

The BBQ was fun and it was nice to take a break from work and school work for a while to eat some good food and chat with my friends.  I had half of a huge chicken breast, three  two big spoon fulls of mixed fruit, which was delicious, and some pasta salad.  It was so good and I was stuffed when I left! I may or may not have gone back for seconds on the pasta salad…but since there are no pics that means no proof….and you can’t prove anything!!  hehe  🙂 🙂

Here are the eats for today that I did get pictures of…..

food-0162

My Green Monster of course, which consisted of:

*lots of spinach

*a small apple

* a kiwi

*1/2cup of mixed berries

*1/2cup of plain non fat yogurt

*1 scoop of protein powder

As usual, this Green Monster didn’t dissapoint…and the first thing that I thought when I drank it was total fabulosity!!

 

food-012

Snack at school (before the bbq) was this Nutrialite Chocolate Carmel Snack Bar that a friend gave me to try.  He and his wife sell these products and he gave me a whole box of different bars to try, I haven’t eaten all of them yet, but there is a product review to come.  This one was good, but a but too sugary for a protein bar.  It left me feeling kind of jittery.  I also had a delicious apple with it, which really balanced it out.  

After the bbq I had some errands to run for the business and when I got home I was still stuffed, but was really thirsty so I made a big jug of green tea with a packet of stevia.

003

I drank it while working on my phytonutrient project/paper for my Nutrition class…

005

Guess what I am doing it on?!  Green Tea!  Gotta love it!

About an hour later I was getting hungry and wanted to have a small snack before I got ready to leave and train some client, so I had this yummy little combo…

008

Some of my hubby’s frosted shreaded wheats with a little bit of almond milk, it was yummy and hit the spot!!

About an hour after my snack, I headed out to kick some client butt….here’s a pic that hubby took of me in what I call “the beast” (the truck that my dear friend Tami is letting me borrow while my little car is in the shop).

011

 

Training was great as usual…I love my clients!  Note to self: get some pics of the studio so that I can show you guys the awesome place where I work.

Dinner wasn’t that spectacular, I didn’t eat until about 8:30 and didn’t want anything heavy so I had a big bowl of steamed veggies, a couple ounces of grilled chicken, and a small glass of Overlake Cabernet.

wednesday-dinner-021

Okay, I’m off to bed now.  Hope you all had a great day!  Oh, and if you’re reading my blog, please leave me some comments and let me know what you think.  I would love to have some feedback!  

Before I go, Spike just did the cutest roll over and stretch move on hubby’s lap and I just had to take a picture of it!  Enjoy! 🙂

spike-001




Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

