Physical Therapy Update

22 04 2009

Well, I had my first appointment with my physical therapist today.  Yeah…I’m not sure about how it went.  She doesn’t really have any idea  what’s wrong with my knee.  Since I have never been to a PT before, I wasn’t sure what to expect, but I did think that she would be able to tell me what she thought was wrong, with confidence.  Well, she suggested that my problem might be arthritis since the pain is the worst in the mornings when I wake up.  She did a bunch of tests on me where she was trying to get the pain to resurface so that she could see what activated it, and it was hard because it takes my knee getting irritated for the pain to come on.  So, it didn’t start hurting until I left the clinic, sooo frustrating!  She put some tape on my knee to see if stabilizing my knee cap would help with the pain (the pain is NOT  in my knee cap, it’s in the ligament next to my knee cap!).

tuesday-012  

Well, I don’t know if it’s helping or not, because my knee now hurts in a new place.  I am hoping that it’s just from the tape being on and my knee adjusting to it?  I don’t know….I think I’m going to call her tomorrow morning and tell her that my knee cap actually hurts now, and didn’t before.  Ugggg.  I tried to explain to her how important running is to me, and how bad I wanted to be doing it again and she didn’t understand.  

I just hope that she knows what she is doing and can help me.

I think I expect too much too soon and might have gone there with the idea that she was going to be able to fix me today.  I know it’s a lot to ask for….I was at least hoping for her to have some idea what the heck is going on, and how I can make it better.

I’m really tired tonight (and my spirits are low), and because of all of the running around I did today, I didn’t get much time to study for my nutrition exam tomorrow morning.  I’m going to catch up on some studies and then hit the hay.  Sorry, no food updates for today (I actually did take the pictures though), but I will leave you with the workout of the day as promised.  

Here’s the Workout!

Legs and Abs today, three rounds of the following circuits:

Smith Squats followed by calf raises (toes pointed forward, in, and out) 70lbs 15 reps, 45 reps on the calf raises

Side Bends (abs) 25lbs 15 reps

Leg Extention 70lbs 15 reps

then….

Hip Raises then Legs down to Floor on Bench (abs) 15 reps

Weighted Single Leg Squats 17.5lbs (each arm) 15 reps (each leg)

Decline Situps 30 reps


So, have any of you had the same kind of experience that I had with the PT, and can you lend any advice?  Am I expecting too much too soon??  Imput from you guys would be great!

Have an awesome evening, and I’ll be back tomorrow…in better spirits, I promise!!

🙂     🙂

 

Oh, here’s a cute pic of our cat Spike that I just had to share with you guys…  🙂

tuesday-002

It doesn’t get much cuter than that!

Actions

Information

One response

27 04 2009
BluElf

I just wanted to say, I’ve been through my own injury journey that led through physical therapy so I could return to running. My therapist was really great about the whole experience and she was able to offer some ideas about what was going on with me, but we didn’t get to the root of what was causing the situation until towards the end of my 8 appointments. While my injury was different than yours, I hope that some of my suggestions can help.

My therapist was also trained in bio mechanics which helped her to understand what my body was experiencing and how to help me. Also, she was sympathetic about what I was going through with my body and respected, as well as supported, my desire to run again. (As far as I know she herself was not a runner.) The staff at the clinic were also ready to assign me a different therapist if I was not able to work well with mine for any reason! So, be honest with yourself about your situation with your therapist, and be honest and thorough with your therapist about the experiences/things you’ve felt, etc with your legs both past and present so your therapist will understand what will help you get back on the road again healthy and strong. (I also asked my therapist if there were some things I could do at home to get the most out of the time I did have with her since I could only meet with her a limited number of times. She had already planned to give me things I could do at home!)

Knowing you are an athlete and a runner, I would strongly recommend working with a physical therapist who has training and an understanding of bio mechanics and if possible also someone who has worked with athletes and/or runners before. This is your money and your time, you are hiring their services to help you, so make the most of this opportunity!

My legs are basically rebuilt now from all the exercises I did to help this happen, and my pace is sooo much better! Most importantly, after 6 months of physical therapy (some home work after I couldn’t go in anymore because of insurance) I was back on the road running again!! (There were times I was so afraid I would not be able to do this again!)

This was my personal experience with physical therapy, and I know had a great therapist, but I wanted to share what I’ve learned in case it can help you with your experience!

Leave a Reply

