Workout’s of the Day, and Finally Some Food Pictures

17 04 2009

I didn’t have to work this evening, and only have one class on Thursday evenings, so today proved to be a very productive day for me!  Not to mention it was 70* out today and absolutely beautiful!!!

Let’s start with the morning workout!

Today was shoulders and…..well, I had worked all other muscle groups this week, so I just threw in what wasn’t sore:

Three rounds of each circuit:

Push Press (I just used the bench press bar with no added weight) 45lbs 15 reps (these are pretty difficult and for the first time, I was able to do 15 without having to set the bar down!!)

Front Squat 45lbs 15 reps

Upright Row 30lbs 15 reps

then…

Bicep Curl to Military Press 15lbs 15 reps

Leg and Hip Raises (for abs) on weight bench 15 reps

5 Star (front raise palms down, front raise palms up, lateral raise, lateral raise with palms out and up over head, reverse flye…this counts as one set, and will shread your shoulders) 7.5lbs 5 reps

then…

Figure 8’s (ab work) 4lb bean bag 15 reps (my obliques are sore from these already)

finally…

30 sweaty minutes on the elliptical while studying for my NASM exam

When I came home, I hopped into the shower and did what I always do next….made a delicious Green Monster!

9-4-thursday-0101

In my delicious green smoothie I put

  • 1 banana
  • 5 frozen strawberries
  • 1/4 cup of other mixed berries
  • 1 scoop chocolate protein powder
  • 1/2 cup of nonfat organic plain yogurt
  • two big hands full of spinach

School today was good, and productive.  I don’t have my nutrition class on Thursday’s so I decide to stay in the library and work on any stuff that I have to get finished for that class so that I don’t fall behind…yeah, I’m such a good student aren’t I?  Today I stayed from 11:30 till about 1:00 and got about 3/4 of the way through my homework that’s due on Monday.  While I was studying I enjoyed one of these

z133908428

A Lemon Zest Luna Bar and an un-pictured Pink Lady Apple…both snacks were delicious, but by 1:00 I was ready to go home and have lunch.  

I still had more homework to do, specifically a paper to start for my nurtition class and an outline to work on for my public speaking class, but when I got outside and noticed how beautiful it was my plans quickly changed.  I decided that since it was so nice out and I had the afternoon off, that meant that I needed to go for a bike ride before I started the second round of my homework.  So, I stuffed my bike into the back of my car, got my gear on, made a snack, and headed out for a really hilly 10 mile bike ride at Pt. Defiance Park.  

Here’s what I got to look at through most of my ride today….

140537299_bc294b9d8c

 

The loop that I ride (or usually run before my knee injury) is 5 miles and about 3/4 of it are hills, it was a great ride and my legs were burnin!  Oh, before I left I did have a snack, which I didn’t get a picture of

  • 1 piece of Oat Bran bread
  • 1 tbsp of delicious raw almond butter
  • 1/2 tbsp of apricot orange preserves

When I got home, I was ready for lunch for sure…so I made a tasty salad

3-27-09-003

  • Mixed greens
  • Tomatoes
  • Cucumbers
  • Broccoli
  • Carrots
  • Grilled chicken
  • Raspberry vinagrette dressing
  • 6 Pretzil thins crushed up and added to salad

 

Damn that salad was good!!!  After I was done eating, it was time to get back to my homework that I abandoned to enjoy the sunshine.  While I was working on my paper, I enjoyed a delicious Ginger Kombucha!  I bought it last week when I got groceries (it was on sale!) and was waiting until the right time to drink it.

wed-4-16-036

 

Dinner Time!

Hubby and I usually don’t eat the same meal for dinner, even though we eat together.  He is a total meat and potatoes guy and I am a veggies and lean protein girl.  But, I do enjoy making delicious meals for him, and tonight I made…wait for it……yeah, the usual, cheese burgers and sweet potato fries.  I try to make the burgers different every time that I make them by just adding different stuff and changing the tastes a little bit.

wed-4-16-044

I cooked the burgers on the George Foreman grill of course, at least this way they are a little more healthy (but not by much).  On the burgers, I put crushed garlic on top of the patties and rubbed it in a bit, sprinkled a little S & P, then put onions on top and put the lid on to grill the onions.  After the onions were grilled and I could smell the them cooking with the garlic, I added some chedar cheese on top of the burgers and set the grill to broil until the cheese was melted.  Hubby loved the burgers and told me that they made it to the top three list!  Woohoo!  On the sweet potato fries I tossed them with a little bit of EVOO and cinnamon and stuck them in the oven at 45o for about 10 minutes, and they turned out great as well!

As for my dinner, it was a giant bowl of steamed veggies and grilled chicken topped with my favorite mouth burning hot sauce.  

wed-4-16-052

Alright, after two workouts and a lot of homework, I am ready to hit the sack.  This was a really long post, but I had a lot to catch up on.

I hope you all had a great day, and I will catch up with you tomorrow!!!!

Nighty Night!   🙂    🙂

Oh!  I forgot to mention….go check out Fitnesssita’s blog , she’s doing an aweseome Stonyfield Farm Giveaway!!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

