I Love Green Smoothies!

10 04 2009

Hey everyone!  How was your Thursday?  Mine was great.  I started the morning at 6am with my usual cup of coffee and tbsp of almond butter, I also took a banana with me just in case my sugars got low and I needed a boost before cardio.  I was on my way to the gym by 6:30.  I have to say, this morning workout routine is starting to work really well for me, I’m starting to get a rythim and getting up and out of the house so early is getting easier every day.  

Here’s My Thursday Workout:

Today was shoulders and abs followed by another 30 very sweaty minutes on the elliptical.

Three rounds of each of:

Arnold Press: 12 lb dumb bells 15 reps

Kettle Bell Side Bends: 15 reps on each side

External Rotations: 12 lb dumb bells 15 reps

then…

Decline Reverse Crunch (it’s been a long time since I have done these, I forgot how hard they were!!): 15 reps

Kettle Bell Swings: 15 reps

Figure 8’s (abs): 15 reps

Hubby had to work really late last night, (well actually he had to go back to a job he was working on and check on his concrete pour) and didn’t get home till about 3am, so I didn’t sleep very well.  I was super tired this morning and didn’t think I would make it through my workout.  But, I did!!  My strength workout was great, and so was my cardio!  I felt great and super sweaty when I left…….just how I like it (that’s what she said, hahaha).

Since hubby was still sleeping when I got home from the gym, and I didn’t want to wake him, I couldn’t make a Green Monster for my post workout breakfast.  😦  I was super bumbed since I had been craving it all throughout my workout, but I knew that I would just have to wait.  So, I had this instead….

9-4-thursday-003

1/6 cup of oat bran

1/2 cup oats (regular not steel cut like I usually have)

1/3 cup of cooked egg whites

sprinkle of cinnamon on top

Yeahhhhh, this breakfast was so not satisfying this morning.  It’s amazing to me how I can be more satisfied by a smoothie than a big bowl of oats and eggs.  It kept me full for about an hour and a half, but didn’t really taste that good, I think it’s because it wasn’t what I really wanted.

I also had this instead of another coffee…

9-4-thursday-005

After breakfast….it was off to school I went.  I packed an apple, some carrots, and a Think Thin bar which I did not eat.

After school, I had some errands to run and had to stop by Trader Joe’s for a friend and fellow trainer and pick up some almond butter and peanut butter.  He told me that he recently started eating almond butter and paid $9 for a 12 ounce jar at the health food store down the street!!  What the hell!  That’s so expensive!!  I told him that I would go pick some up for him, and in exchange he showed me some new corrective exercises to help with my knee as well as some new variations on some squat exercises I have been doing.  I give him food advice, and he teaches me new things about corrective exercise that I didn’t already know!  It’s a good deal!

When at TJ’s, I picked up this to snack on before my 2nd workout:

tjturkey2

This stuff is great!  I don’t buy it that often because it’s a little expensive for me, and has a lot of sodium…but it was well worth it!  It has 11 grams of protein and only 60 calories for a 1 oz serving, I think on my way home I ate about 3 servings and they were yummy!!!!!

After I was done with my stretching/workout session (which wasn’t really a workout at all, I didn’t even sweat, but learned new stretches), I worked a little on my Informative Speech project for my public speeking class.  Can you guess what my speech is going to be on?  Yeah….that’s right, fitness and nutrition.  What else could I talk to the entire class about for 7 minutes and actually feel confident that I know what I’m talking about?

After putting together my outline, I decided it was time for my Green Monster (props to Bobbi from http://nhershoes.blogspot.com/for inspiring me to start eating these delicious smoothies!)  

Here’s what I put in it:

9-4-thursday-008

2 cups of spinach

1/2 of an apple

1/2 of a grapefruit

1/2 cup of nonfat plain yogurt

1 scoup of EAS protein powder

9-4-thursday-010

The green color kind of freaked me out at first….but it didn’t taste green at all!  It tasted sweet and delicious and was just what I needed!!!!!!!

I went back to some more homework and did some book keeping for our business, and before I knew it, it was time to get read to go train my new client!  She was so much fun and is so willing to learn and work hard, I love it!

I knew that I would get hungry the minute I walked out the door and needed to be high energy while training my client, so I made this…

9-4-thursday-012

Low carb wrap

Mixed greens

2 oz grilled Pollo Asado chicken

1 tbsp of the yummy-licious hummus that I made yesterday

I also decided to add some carrots after I took the picture. 

It was so good and was exactly what I needed.

Remember that coupon that I got from Kashi for a Free Entree?  Well, I finally found a store around here that sells them, and went and picked one up for dinner tonight.  

9-4-thursday-0241

So, here’s my review on my Lemongrass Coconut Chicken Dinner….

It was good, but not great.  For the 300 calories that it had, I felt unsatisfied after eating it, it was really bland and lacked in flavor.  It reminded me why I take the time to make my own dinners instead of eating frozen dinners like I used to.  Would I eat it again?  Sure.  Would I buy one?  Naw…I much rather enjoy a big bowl of steamed veggies with grilled chicken and my new favorite hot sauce, which I now call my crack (I put this on my Kashi dinner to give it a little more flavor).  

9-4-thursday-025

Because I was unsatisfied and had a bit of a sweet tooth, I decided to make my new favorite desert:

9-4-thursday-029

1/2 cup of plain nonfat yogurt

4 sliced up prunes

1 tbsp of carob chips

sprinkle of cinnamon

Awwwwwwwwww, that hit the spot and now I am ready for some good stretching and a warm bed.

It has been a great day and I am ready to start another great day tomorrow!

So, before I go, here’s my question of the day:

Have you ever tried any of the Kashi entrees, and if so what did you think?  What’s your favorite “healthy” frozen dinner?  Leave me a comment and let me know.

Have a great night everyone!!!    🙂 🙂

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

