My Two New Meal Creations and the 30 Day Shred!

1 04 2009

Hi bloggies….sorry it’s been so long.  I’ve been crazy busy and have so much to catch you all up on!   It was a busy weekend because of course I worked and since I was on spring break I worked all last week and was EXHAUSTED on Sunday night when I got off work.  

Spring quarter started this week and I’m taking Nutrition, Public Speaking (bleh!), and doing home study for another personal training certification.  Busy, busy, busy!  Since my first class doesn’t start until 10:30am instead of the usual 8:30, I have decided to start working out in the morning before school instead of the afternoon when I get home.  Working out in the morning is a new thing for me, as I am NOT A MORNING PERSON at all!  So far, so good.  I decided to be adventurous and do the (gasp!) 5:30am Spin/Sculpt Class yesterday morning…and to be honest I don’t remember much of it but I do know that when I was done I went down and lifted for about 45 minutes and headed home to get ready for school.  Okay, going to the gym at 5:30 is too damn early in the morning for me, plus it leaves me like 3 hours before I leave for class…and I am too groggy to study in the morning before school, so I decided not to do that anymore.  I was falling asleep in class on the first day, and had to take an afternoon nap when I should have been studying.  Oops!

So this morning I woke up at around 6am and was still super groggy but managed to get in 7 hours of sleep.  When I woke up I made a quick pre-workout snack and stumbled out the door and to the gym.

img_1549

img_1553

I wasn’t really hungry when I woke up, but knew that I needed to eat something so that I didn’t bonk 5 minutes into my workout, because that’s always what happens if I don’t eat before hand.  (I have no idea what was going on with my camera, but the pictures turned out as fuzzy as my vision was this morning) I had a big organic banana and a tbsp of raw almond butter.  It didn’t sit well with me because I felt like I was going to puke all through my workout this morning.

Here’s the workout!!

I decided to do some Crossfit this morning because I wasn’t in the mood to try and make decisions about which exercises I was going to work into my circuits….

So, I did 5 rounds of this circuits for time….and it kicked my ass!!

“Barbara”

20 band assisted pull ups

30 push ups

40 decline sit ups

50 free squats (with no weight)

I did it in about 45 minutes!

I decided to test out the knee and see if it was getting any better so I hopped on the tread mill.  My doc said that if I wanted to run, I could do two minutes running/two minutes walking at a very slow pace.  So, I hopped on…walked 2 minutes, and then ran two minutes at a (gasp!!!) 12 minute per mile pace…about 4 minutes slower than my speed pre-injury.  Yeah…..that was NOT SUCCESSFUL!  I ran two minutes and that was all she wrote.  DAMMIT KNEE!  JUST HEAL! I will be going to see a physical therapist tomorrow on a non-professional basis (he is the dad of a friend of ours), and hopefully he can give me some advice.

Anyways, when I got home from the gym I was aggravated due to the knee acting up, and my stomach still hurt a little, so I decided to make a pot of coffee and hop in the shower before I ate my breakfast.  

I picked this up yesterday when I got groceries and was really excited to try it!

img_1554

I have seen this on a lot of blogs lately, I think I first got the idea from Abbie at http://foodsthatfit.com/.   That made me really want to try it and I was pleasantly pleased!  Plus, I am looking for new ways to change up the breakfast routine and get more fiber into my diet, instead of taking the fiber supliments that I used to take.

img_1557

I wasn’t completely sure how to cook the oat bran, and was originally going to add it to my regular oats, but changed my mind at the last minute.  I took 1/3 cup of oat bran, 1 scoop EAS protein powder, and some mixed berries and nuked it for about 2 minutes I think…oh I added water too of course.  It was goooooood and I will be eating it tomorrow morning too! Num, Num, Num!

When I left for school this morning I took these beauties for my snack.

img_1562_21

When I was at my local health foods store yesterday I spotted this bar and noticed that it was on sale for .99! I am never one to pass up a deal, especially on organic protein bars, so I decided to pick one up…..and it did not disappoint!  It was really dense and had great flavor!

This Organic Optimum Rebound Energy bar has 190 calories and 10 grams of protein, and kept me full for 2 hours at school, which really surprised me!  I went back and bought 4 more today because they are a great snack for my long days in class and are a great deal!

When I got home I was ravenous, but knew I needed to prepare a few things for dinner tonight and for the next few days, so I munched on an unpictured huuuuge apple, and it was delish!

I decided to make hummus today!!! I have never made it before but have wanted to try it for a long time.  With all of the money I spend on these tiny little tubs of hummus, imagine the $$$ I could save by making it myself!? So, I made some today and it turned out so perfect!!  I was pleased to say the least.

img_1564_2

Here are the ingredients! (I realized about 10 minutes into making this that I forgot to take a pic of everything before I started putting it together)

1 can of garbanzo beans

a few roasted red pepper slices

1 garlic clove

the juice from 1 lime

1 tbsp of extra virgin olive oil

some water, onion powder, salt and pepper to taste

Here is the finished and awesomely delicious product!

img_1566

Since I was fighting the urge to eat it strait out of the food processor, I decided to make hummus wrap!

img_1572_2

I took a  low carb tortilla, grilled chicken, some carrot and celery slices, and my hummus and rolled it up into a happy little wrap.  IT WAS SO DAMN GOOD!  I tried to eat it slowly and savor the flavor, but that just didn’t happen. 🙂

img_1575

After I ate my wrap, I spent about 3 hours working on homework and reading…really fun and interesting stuff!

I had one more cooking adventure for the day…today was a day all about new cooking experiences for me!

I decided to make smashed (pureed) cauliflower.  I am looking for ways to work different kinds of veggies into my meals and spice things up a bit.  I am just in the past year or so really finding my cooking talent, so a lot of these things that I make are new to me…but old to some of you I’m sure.  

img_1578_2

I steamed the cauliflower for about 15 minutes and then put them in the blender when they were all soft and ready to go.  In the blender I added…salt, pepper, and a little bit of non fat yogurt to sweeten it up and change the texture a bit.  

img_1580

 I was really pleased with the taste and texture….but a bit bumbed about the fact that I used a huge head of cauliflower and it only made this little contaner full.  Bummer.  I had intended on eating some for dinner tonight over baby spinach with some grilled chicken but after all of my taste testing I just wasn’t feeling it.  I will be eating it tomorrow and will let you know what I think.  

Well I am exhausted and I think I am going to get ready for bed now….

Oh! And after reading such great reviews about Jillians 30 Day Shred, I decided to go pick it up today and start it tomorrow.  I have never been a big fan of exercise videos but it has gotten rave reviews on the blogosphere, and since I am still not running I need new ways to vamp up my workouts, I think this might be a good change!  I don’t intend on only doing 20 minutes of working out a day, but this will be a great addition to my cardio and the other weight training I do.  Day 1 of 30 starts tomorrow!!!

Nighty night everyone, I’ll catch up with you tomorrow!!  🙂  🙂








Actions

Information

One response

2 04 2009
runningyogini

Your homemade hummus looks fantastic! I so need to try it out. If only I weren’t so lazy!! I’ve never been able to develop a taste for cauliflower. I’ve even had mashed buttery cauliflower at a restaurant, but I just can’t get over the fact that I don’t like the taste of it. Too bad b/c it looks good!

Leave a Reply

