Too Much Fun With Wine!!!

26 03 2009

Sorry for not posting the past few days…they days just kind of slipped away from me.

Monday night hubby and I went over to my friend Claire’s house to hang with her and the BF and have dinner, wine, and appetizers.  Since we are on spring break this week and are both way too busy to hang out during the school quarter, we vowed to get together for dinner and wine at least one night this week.  Okay, after Monday night……one night this week is enough for me!!  My contribution to the dinner and appetizers was some home made salsa, unsalted organic tortilla chips, and some veggies for dippin and snackin.

party-002

Here’s the ingredients for my salsa….1/2 onion, 2 cloves of garlic, 3 jalapenos, 1 cup of chopped cilantro, 4 vine ripe tomatoes, and the juice of 1 lime, and a little salt n pepper to taste.  I intended on using the green chile’s in the salsa too but after I had made it, it was perfect and didn’t need a thing!  This is the first time that I have ever made my own salsa!  I know, I know…it’s so basic and yummy how could I have never made this before!?  Let me just say that I will be making this a lot more often, it was so delicious and was definitely a favorite amongst the crew.

party-013

Here’s the spread…..damn it was good!!  I have been craving the salsa ever since, I will be making it again tomorrow night!

Here’s my friend Claire dipping in!

party-015

Sticking with the theme of the night, Claire made “Marks Low-Fat Chicken Fajitas”. 

Mark’s Lowfat Chicken Fajita’s
2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts cut into thin strips
1 small green bell pepper cut into strips
1 small red onion, quartered and separated
1 small zucchini, chopped
1 1/2 teaspoons cumin
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 1/2 teaspoons paprika
1 1/2 teaspoons onion powder
1 1/2 teaspoons chili powder
8 lowfat flour or corn tortillas 

Spray a large nonstick skillet with cooking spray and heat over high heat. Add vegetables and saute over high heat until crisp-tender. Remove vegetables from skillet and keep warm. Re-heat skillet over high heat, add chicken and seasoning ingredients and toss well to coat. Continue cooking until chicken is no longer pink. Add a small amount of water and simmer for a few minutes. Return vegetables to skillet and heat through. Serve with tortillas, salsa, reduced fat cheese or sour cream, etc. (warm tortillas to make them more pliable). 

Makes 4 Servings
Serving Size: 2 tortillas with 3 ounces chicke 

 

Nutrients per serving:
Calories 274
Total Fat 3 grams
Saturated Fat 1 grams
Protein 31 grams
Carbohydrate 30 grams
Cholesterol 68 milligrams
Sodium 167 milligrams
Fiber 4 grams
Calcium 0 milligrams

 

This recipe is great!  I have made these several times and have made different variations, every time it tasted amazing!  The best thing about this recpie is the seasoning mix for the chicken…unlike the packet taco seasoning, it contains very little to no sodium, and since you put the mix together yourself, you can control how much salt is in your dinner.

party-016

Here’s the mix….veggies and chicken!  Mmmmmm, scrumdiddle!

party-017

Because we ended up having wayyyyy too much of this…

party-008

..I forgot to take a pic of the rest of our dinner.  But we had Mission Low Carb Tortillas with the fajita filling and salsa on top.  

For desert, Claire cut up some yummy strawberries that we had with our wine.

party-025

Needless to say….it was an AWESOME NIGHT hanging out with some AWESOME FRIENDS (even though the day after wasn’t nearly as much fun)!  Love you guys!

Here are some random pictures of our buzzed (or maybe even drunken) adventures…

party-012                                                                       

Here’s the hubby giving me “the look”, isn’t he cute! 🙂

party-038                                                                      

Here’s me, Claire, and the BF Phil (yes, this is the token “myspace” photo)

                     party-0551

Okay, all I have to say about this one was it was the end of the night, and Claire was sitting with                                              me on the chair, and the next thing I know she got up and I was falling down!  Hahaha, as you                                                     can see, I was having way too much fun!

 

party-064

Claire, Me, and our friend Casey

 

Okay…enough of the humiliating photos for tonight!  We had a great time and I am glad that I can share it with all of you, and if you get a chance……..try the recipe for “Marks Lowfat Fajitas”, it tastes awesome!

I’m off to go make dinner now, catch up with you all later!  Have a beautiful evening!  🙂  🙂

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

