Hurry Up and Wait

26 03 2009

Bleh!  It seems like I have been sitting around all day waiting to go to work.  I got scheduled to work 7pm-12am today…what the hell kind of shift is that!?  I called in to work twice today to try and come in early so I could actually get an 8 hour shift but was not successful.  Damn this economy!

Anyways, I woke up early this morning…at about 7am with the hopes that my gym would have an early morning spin class that I could do instead of the boreing elliptacal, but I missed it.  The spin class is truly early morning….such as 5:30AM!!  Maybe I’ll try to make it to that one next week.  Instead I decided to try out the Heavy Bag Boxing Class!  I’ve never taken a class like this at the gym before and it was pretty fun!  Aparently I got pretty into it because I bloodied up my knuckles a little….I’m curious to see if I’ll be sore in the morning when I wake up.  I was the only one in the class that wasn’t sweating bullets, but I was working hard, trust me!  Iam surely going to do that class again….maybe even on Saturday morning!  When I was done with the class I felt like I still needed to work out a little bit so I opted for some upper body circuit training.

HERE’S THE WORKOUT!

1 Hour of Heavy Bag Boxing

then…

Three rounds of:

Front Bar Press Down (works the lats) 40lbs 15 reps

Flat Bar Tricep Press-Downs 50lbs 15 reps

Dumb Bell Hammer Curls 17.5lbs 15 reps (each arm)

Seated Dumb Bell Military Press 17.5lbs 15 reps

I was pretty tired and hungry so I called it a day and went home for a shower and a snack.

 

HERE ARE THE EATS SO FAR!

This morning I wanted something light, so I decided to have a nummy bowl with 1/2 c of Organic Non Fat Yogurt and 3/4 cup of mixed berries with a packet of stevia sweetener. It was really good and hit the spot!

mmmm-013 

About an hour and a half later I decided to get ready to go to the boxing class and knew I would need some fuel to make it through the workout, so I pulled this baby out of the fridge.

mmmm-017

I got this idea from the Fitnessista (check her blog out at http://www.fitnessista.com/), and it tasted so good and gave me the energy I needed to make it through my workout.  She calls it the “Breakfast Cookie” ….

Ingredients:

1/3 cup of oats

1/2 scoup of protein powder (I used EAS Whey Protein Blend)

1 tbsp almond butter

1/8 cup of non fat milk

I also mixed in a little cinnamon and a packet of stevia, and put a few berries on top.

Just mix all of the ingredients together and spread it out on a plate and place it in the fridge overnight….and poof! You have a yummy breakfast cookie!

When I got home from the gym, I hopped into the shower and had this lovely grapefruit for snack before catching up on some studying.  It wasn’t a ruby red like I thought it was…but was still really yummy!

mmmm-019

mmmm-020

Remember a few weeks ago when I got into that nasty car accident and smashed up my little Mazda?  Well I went today to get an estimate done on the damages so that I can get it fixed….it’s going to cost my insurance company about $5000! DAMN!!!

I was a little bumbed out about that, but happy to see that this had come in the mail when I got home…….

mmmm-024

Total Cranberry Crunch Cereal!  They were giving away free samples on their website and I can never resist free food so I sent in for my free box.  I was pretty hungry so I ate it right away, dry and right out of the box!  It was good, but I have to say that it was a pretty small serving for 190 calories…about 1 1/4 cups and only kept me full for about an hour.  Even though it was tasty I think that they really skimped on the berries and the flavor..I would eat this again, but wouldn’t buy it.

and onto my late lunch…….

I am just starving today!  I’m trying to control my eating since I am still not running and not burning as many calories, so I decided to make a big and yummy salad for lunch.

Ingredients:

Spring salad mix

Sliced up tomato

Sliced up cucumber

Broccoli

2 oz of grilled chicken breast

Raspberry Vinagrette dressing from TJ’s 

10 crushed up Everything Pretzel Slims from TJ’s

mmmm-026

Putting the pretzel slims in the salad was a new thing for me, but it really added a lot of flavor to the salad and made it fun to eat…crunchy crunchy!

 

mmmm-029

Mmmmmm, I really want another one!

Well, I’m going to get ready for work now.  I’ll post pics of the snacks that I’ll be taking with me later.

Hope you all have a beautiful evening!!   🙂




Actions

Information

One response

27 03 2009
FoodsThatFit

Thanks for the sweet comment on my site!

I still have yet to master the breakfast cookie, but it looks like you have it figured out! 🙂

Leave a Reply

