TGIF! (well, it’s my Friday anyway) :)

23 03 2009

Well, after a really frustrating morning and an exhausting, and even more frustrating night at work yesterday, I have decided to stop throwing myself a pitty party about my non-running “issues” and just get over it!  It is what it is right?  Yeah, I can’t run and I feel kinda gross, but I just need to make the right adjustments to my life and my meals.

I felt really wierd at work last night.  I had absolutely no appetite what-so-ever, which is really out of character for me.  I know that due to not being able to run and my workouts not being as intense because I can’t do a lot of lower body stuff, my metabolism has slowed down a lot.  I think that this is the reason that I just felt huge and bloated and not hungry at all!  I am very strict about making sure that I eat every 2.5 to 3 hours in order to keep my metabolism and blood sugars up, but last night I just listened to my body and only ate when I was absolutely hungry.  That was a good decision because I woke up this morning feeling much better.  I was a little hungry when I got home last night and knew I needed to eat dinner, but wanted to keep it light so I made this….

foods-019(sorry for the fuzzy pic, I was really tired and didn’t even bother to focus the camera)

I made a huge bowl of steam veggies (it was really a lot bigger than it looks) with 1/3 cup of egg whites microwaved for 2 minutes and added to the veggies for some extra protein.  The bowl of consisted of a mixed stir fry veggies blend, brussels sprouts, and asparagus splashed with some soy sauce.  It was yummy!!  I ate, waited about an hour for the food to digest and hit the sack…I was really tired.

Okay, so like I said, I felt awesome when I woke up this morning!  Since I had to be to work at 9, I just had a quick bowl of steel cut oats with some egg whites (can’t get enough of the egg whites right now) and my usual big ass cup of coffee.

Oh, something that I wanted to share with you guys, but I kept forgetting to take the pic in the morning (usually because I’m too groggy)….the special way that I make my coffee in the mornings.  It’s so tasty and thought that I should share so that you guys can try it out!

foods-002

When I make my coffee in the mornings, I put the coffee grounds in the filter (usually one sco0p of coffee for one cup of water…I like it strong), and I add cinnamon and a little bit of ginger before it brews.  The cinnamon gives the coffee a great flavor, and the ginger helps with any indigestion or stomach upset that the coffee might cause…plus it just tastes good!  I don’t measure it out, just pour it in there.  Try it out and let me know what you guys think!!

I had a Think Think bar about an hour after I got to work to keep me going through the next few hours.  Since I worked a short shift today I just took a repeat of last nights dinner with me to have for lunch, but instead of the egg whites I added canned shreaded chicken.  It’s not my favorite, but I always like having it for the times I run out of chicken breast and still need to make sure that I get my protein in.  I also added some balsamic vinegar that we had in the cupbord in the break room to it to give a little flavor (working at Trader Joe’s definitely has it’s benefits!).  Mmmmmmm.  Again, I have been a bad blogger today and didn’t take any pics.  

When I got home from work I was feeling pretty motivated since my day at work just flew by and I still had energy to spare…it was only 3:30 and I usually get off at 6 on Sundays!  Plus, I didn’t have any homework to worry about since I’m on spring break!!!  I decided to eat a quick pre-workout snack….1 piece of oat bran bread with 1 tbsp of almond butter and a little bit of orange apricot preserves, and I was off to the gym for my workout!

HERE’S THE WORKOUT!

Chest + Triceps + Abs

Three circuits of each:

Short Bar Press Down (triceps) – 40lbs 15 reps

Seated Chest Press (chest) – 55lbs 15 reps

Roman Chair Leg Lifts (abs) – 15 reps

then….

Decline Bench Press (chest) – 10lbs on each side + weight of bar = 65lbs 15 reps

Rope Pull Down (triceps) – 40lbs 15 reps

Side Bends (abs) – 25 lbs 15 reps on each side

then…

Push-Ups – 15 reps

Tricep Extentions – 20lbs 15 reps

Prone Iso-Abs (planks) – 1 minute each

then….

30 minutes on the eliptical in the hill climb mode

That workout kicked my butt!!!!!  When I got home I was starving and needed something to hold me over until my my hubby got home from work and I could make dinner for the both of us, so I had the good ole standy by EAS Whey Protein Shake, took a much needed shower and plopped my tired butt down on and started catching up on blogs and reading emails.

nature-walk2-0081

 

When hubby got home from working all day he was pretty hungry, so I hopped up and made him some delicious dinner.  I was too hungry to wait for him to get home and didn’t really feel like having steamed veggies and chicken again (tomorrow is grocery shopping day and we are all out of the normal stuff that I eat), so I pulled a South Beach Diet Deluxe Pizza out of the freezer.  I only have these every now and then when I am too tired to cook, but it was well worth it and very filling!  This little pizza has 340 calories and 30 grams of protein!! (sorry again….no pic)

I told hubby that I would make him whatever he was in the mood for and he went for his good ole stand by….cheese burgers and sweet potato fries, so that’s what he got!  I cooked the hamburger pattys on the George Forman Grill and sprinkled a little bit of onion powder and jonny’s seasoning on each side and then put some Tillamook Colby cheese on top when they were about done (not exactly the healthiest dinner, but that’s what he wanted).  Ialso drizzled a little bit of EVOO and cinnamon on the sweet potato fries and baked them in the oven for about 15 minutes at 425 degrees…they were delicious!!


foodsss-002

Well, it’s been a long, but GREAT DAY and I am ready to have a cup of this……

dinner-0102

…and hit the sack.  I have a lot to do tomorrow and want to get a good nights sleep.  Hope you all had a great weekend, and I will catch up with you and all of your awesome blog posts tomorrow!  

Good night!!  🙂

 





Actions

Information

2 responses

24 03 2009
The Running Yogini

I love the coffee idea! I’m going to try it tomorrow 🙂

25 03 2009
becky

hey! i wish i was a coffee fanatic… that idea sounds lovely!

it’s funny cuz i came to similar conclusions about running…. it won’t do me any good so why mourn over it right? o, and i’ll be trying your strength workout–been looking for a different one than my usual circuit from xcountry season!

i do hope you’ll be up and running soon. =)

Leave a Reply

