Making up for yesterday

12 03 2009

Hey guys, sorry for not posting yesterday. It was pretty busy day and before I knew it, bedtime had rolled around….and it rolled around about an hour earlier last night. With finals just around the corner (next Tuesday and Wednesday) and my hubby’s business picking up, which meant that I was sending emails and making phone calls for him while he was out on a job, so I had a lot to do yesterday. When I got home from class I rushed to the gym as usual and did my hour and a half workout. Since I am used to my primary form of cardio exercise being running and am still trying to let this knee heal, it is really hard for me to get my heart rate up when I’m at the gym doing cardio. I have opted for the elliptical, as that has always been what I do when I don’t run but after spending 45 minutes on it the other day and barely breaking a sweat, I needed to come up with a new idea. Tim (the “hubbs”) suggested that I either swim or ride the stationary bike since it’s something that I don’t normally do and my body isn’t used to it…um, hello! I’m a personal trainer, it’s my job to know this stuff and I didn’t even think of it! Thanks Timmy for being the other half of my brain yesterday….and most days! haha Well, I rode the stationary bike on the hill climb setting for 45 minutes yesterday and my buns were-a-burnin!! What a workout! After I was done I opted for a quick circuit since I knew I had a lot of homework waiting for me at home. I did four sets of:
Wall Squats for 2 Minutes
15 reps of 15lb Hammer Curls
15 Figure 8’s (abs) with a 6 lb Medicine Ball
15 Dips on a Weight Bench

Usually I do two circuits but I was in a hurry, and this was sufficient. When I am on a break from school I will kick it into higher gear and spend a little more time strength training.

My snacks and breakfast were nothing new so I didn’t take pictures….that and I was so busy I forgot.
I had my cup of steel cut oats and berries for breakfast, and apple for snack, and my piece of wheat bread with almond butter and raspberry perserves before I went for my workout. Did I mention how much I LOVE ALMOND BUTTER!? Seriously, this is going to be a problem for me! haha I was tempted to have it with a banana for snack yesterday but I opted for an EAS Whey Protein shake and a yummy grapefruit instead for my post workout snack.
bre-0021
I love this protein powder! 27g of protein per serving, 140 calories, 1 gram of fat and just enough to give me energy after a workout or run while I wait for my stomach to settle down. Usually after a run I need to refuel but my stomach feels weird and doesn’t want food.

When I got home I hopped into the shower and then it was onto my studies. I had a bunch of stuff to catch up on for my psych class and some biology to do as well. I got hungry while studying so I decided to have some yummy broccoli and spicy hummus!
wed-002

After I was done with homework I had some running around to do and when I got home I was too ansy to sit and do more homework, and I still had to finish my chapter reading for my psych class, so I decided to head back to the gym for another 30 minutes of cardio on the elliptical and finish my reading. Pfew! I rarely do 2-a-days and it really wore me out, but I was happy that I did it!

When I got home, I headed strait to the kitchen to make dinner. I decided to make a different combination instead of my standard bowl of steamed veggies and chicken breast.
I made one cup of Trader Joe’s Latin Style Black Bean Soup with two ounces of chicken breast shredded and added in with a little bit of roasted corn to add a little bit of sweetness. Man, what a great combo! It was delicious. I also cooked up some brussels sprouts, and my mixed veggies…just can’t get enough of this combo lately!
wed-004

wed-008
This soup really turned out better than it looks…I didn’t want to eat it by itself because I figured it would be a little boring and I needed to get my protein…which is why I decided to add the chicken. The flavors together were really fantastic!
wed-009

Here are my nummy veggies! I decided it add a little bit of the veggies to my soup as I was eating it, and it was really good! I have a thing about having big chunks of veggies in my soup…and I am glad that I tried it, because it made my mouth really happy!
wed-010

To satisfy my sweet tooth last night, I had organic nonfat plain yogurt with applesauce and cinnamon again. Since I had it the other night and already showed you a pic of it, I decided not to take another one.
OH! I gotta go get ready for school! Hope you all have a great day, and thanks so much for reading!!

I’ll leave you with another cute pic of my kitty Molly…she can get comfortable literally anywhere!
wed-015
There she is…drapped over hubby’s arm, trying to take a nap 5 feet in the air…so cute!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

