My new loves…almond butter and steel cut oats!

11 03 2009

Well, my eats for today were delicious!! Since I went grocery shopping last night and had picked up a few new things, it made today’s food really interesting and yummy!
My Breakfast!
Last night I decided to start preparing my steel cut oats…thanks again to Abbie www.foodsthatfit.com for the great suggestion about soaking the oats over night and cooking them in the morning. So, I did just that and soaked them overnight and when I woke up this morning they looked like this…
afternoon-001

I let them come to a boil and then put them on simmer for about 10 minutes while I got ready for school, coming back occasionally to stir them, which was making me excited to try em….they looked so yummy!
While they were cooking, and almost done I added a packet of Stevia to sweeten them up a bit.

afternoon-005

Oh! And for those of you out there that count calories (which I do, especially when I can’t run and my metabolism has slowed down a bit), 1/4 cup of steel cut oats uncooked equals 1 cup cooked, which is 150 calories. There is a lot of nutrition in these oats, and I was really pleased with the taste and texture! I added 1/2 of a cup of mixed berries to 1 cup of cooked oats, and it was perfect! Oh, and I also had my standard huuuge cup of coffee with one stevia and some organic non-fat milk. The best part was that they kept me full until after I got home from school, which was about 3.5 hours after I had eaten them. I usually eat every 2 hours or so and am starving by my second class. I had ran out the door in a hurry this morning and forgot my apple, so I was pleased that I wasn’t so hungry that I couldn’t focus in class.
afternoon-007

My Afternoon Snack!
Oh my gosh! Almond butter is amazing, and I don’t think I will ever be able to look at peanut butter the same again! Before I work out or go for a run I always have a piece of oat bran bread with 1 tbsp of peanut butter and some raspberry preserves, but today I decided to try my raw almond butter that I bought last night. I am addicted!
afternoon-008

 

It was so good with the bread and preserves, I could have just eaten it right out of the jar with a spoon! At least it is healthy right!? Almonds have a lot more nutritional benefits than peanuts do so I also feel really good about eating it!
afternoon-009
Mmmmmmm!

When I got home from my run/walk I was a little hungry and decided that I would need a snack to munch on while doing my Psych and Biology homework, so I decided to have the apple that I forgot this morning with a little more almond butter.  See!  I told you I’m addicted! 🙂

afternoon-019

After studying for a bit, I headed to the gym for a cardio and strength workout (check out my previous post for the details), and when I got home I was pretty hungry. Not as hungry as I had expected though. In comparison to other days, I didn’t have much of an appetite today…but wanted to make sure that I was at least getting my calories and protein in so that I could keep my metabolism up.

Here’s what I had for dinner!
I decided to cook up some fresh brussels sprouts with some Byrds Eye Ultimate Stirfry Mix (which happens to be my favorite right now!). I also put some chicken breasts on my George Foreman Grill and grilled them with a little bit of salt and pepper. Mmm-Mmmm-Mmmmm!
march-10-dinner-004

march-10-dinner-003

Here’s my finished masterpiece, with a glass of Captain’s Catch wine from Trader Joe’s, I just can’t seem to have dinner without it lately!
march-10-dinner-011

To end the day right I decided to have a healthy desert since I am still giving up sweets until the end of lent.
I had 1/2 cup of Organic Plain Yogurt and 1/2 cup of Unsweetened Applesauce sprinkled with cinnamon and a cup of chamomile tea!
to-001
Mmmm, what a perfect ending to a great day!

Oh, and my hubby just took these amazing pictures of the moon so I thought it was only appropriate to share one with all of you.  He takes such great pictures!

moon-pics-2-014

Have a nice night guys!  I’ll be back with more tomorrow.  🙂

Actions

Information

2 responses

11 03 2009
runningyogini

I’m such a almond butter fanatic! I also love steel cut oats. I haven’t had any for a while hmmmmm. Have a great day 🙂

12 03 2009
Missy (MISSY MAINTAINS)

Thanks for adding me! Love your blog too!!!

Leave a Reply

