I Have A Case of the Mondays!

10 03 2009

Hi everybody…today was definitely what I would call a “Monday”.  Not because it’s the first day of the work/school week, but because it started out to be what Monday’s typically are….tiring, frustrating, and somewhat disasterous.  It was snowing pretty heavily on my way to school this morning..let me just say that I have no problems with driving in the snow, but traffic was pretty bad and at the particular time that I was on my way, the snow flurries were huge!  Anyways, I ended up getting in an accident this morning!  Dangit!  I was slowing down to stop at a stoplight and hit a small patch of ice and started sliding, so to avoid hitting the person in front of me, had a knee jerk reaction and veered off to the left to avoid the accident and ended up getting side swiped pretty good by a passing car in the lane next to me.  I swear that when I looked in my side mirror that I didn’t see a car coming!  But, as I said last night….I was really tired and unfortunately I think that had a little to do with my impaired judgement.  Thankfully no one was hurt, just damage to my little hot rod and a little damage to the big huge Buick that hit me.

car-accident-pictures-001
car-accident-pictures-004

After I finished with the police and all of that mess I headed to school and managed to make it to my last class, but I couldn’t really focus because the adrenaline was still pumpin and I was still thinking about how I could have done things differently and avoided that accident. Oh well, such as life…at least I still have my life. 🙂

So, I didn’t really have much of an appetite today from the stress of the accident and all of the homework I had to do to prepare for finals so I don’t have a lot of pictures of my meals. Unfortunately I didn’t get to go for my much anticipated run either…I have been out of comission for about three weeks due to an injured knee and today was supposed to get back on the horse, so to speak.  I am so nervous to get back to my running, I feel pretty out of shape and unmotivated. I hope to get a good run in tomorrow, even if it’s only a few miles.

Today was grocery shopping day and on Monday’s before I hit the store the fridge and cupboards are pretty bare.
For breakfast I had a bowl of Kashi Go Lean with Organic Plain Yogurt and a cup of coffee with an apple for my afternoon snack when I got home from school.  Because I was so groggy and tired, my mind was not on the camera and I forgot the pics.  DOH!
While I was finishing up the last bit of my biology research project I decided to have some baby carrots and Trader Joe’s Tomato Basil Hummus (which I did get a picture of)…mmmmmm, yummy!
march9-001

Since I knew that I wouldn’t be home from the store until after 7:30 I just stopped by the deli at the grocery store and picked up some Thai Chicken Salad, it always burns the heck out of my mouth but is oh-so-good!! It’s kind of a weird picture, but trust me, it’s delicious!

march9-004

I got some new stuff at the store tonight! I am trying out new recipes and new dinner ideas in my quest to not be stuck in the rut of eating the same thing, and a lot of my ideas I have gotten from fellow foodie bloggers like Abbie at www.foodsthatfit.com.  Thanks ladies!
march9-007

The Steel Cut Oats and Almond Butter are items that I have never had before so I am really looking forward to trying them. I did try the Latin Style Black Bean Soup today and it was delish, sorry that there is no pic but it was a quick break in my studies and I totally forgot to grab the camera. I added some roasted corn, shredded up grilled chicken that I had in the fridge and some garlic powder and pepper. It was pretty good but when I have more time I am going to make it again, but add more vegetables to it. I have a thing about big chunks of veggies in my soup.  Oh, and you can’t see them very well in the pic but I also got some Harvest Grains, which are really good too!  I have had them before and will tell you more about them when I cook them either tomorrow or the next night.

Well, I am going to finish up some school work and call some clients back before I hit the sack tonight.  It has been a real long and stressful day and I need some rest.

I’ll leave you guys with my cute pic of the day, my hubby Tim and our cats Spike and Molly curled up on his lap.  Awwww, too cute!

tim-001

Actions

Information

3 responses

21 04 2009
Workout of the Day (that I barely remember) and My Greenest Monster Yet! « The Life of the Hopeful Runner

[…] school, I took my poor little smashed up car to the body shop to get fixed…finally!!!  I will be without her for (gasp!) two weeks! […]

5 06 2009
In the Middle of the Storm! « The Life of the Hopeful Runner

[…] have court next Wednesday morning for that damn car accident I was in during finals week last quarter.  Keep your fingers crossed for me that the judge lowers […]

5 12 2009
lp

Man i feel for you.

Leave a Reply

